Juneau-Douglas has left mark on all-time top swim records

Juneau-Douglas High School's 200 freestyle relay team of Ciera Kelly, Talyn Ramos, Auri Clark and Dakota Isaak set the Region V meet record of 1:40.03 last Saturday. At state they need to shave just over three seconds for the fastest Alaska high school time ever.

From as far back as records have been kept for the Alaska Scholastic Activities Association, the swimmers at Juneau-Douglas have left their mark on the state’s all-time top 12 listings for pool performance.


First founded by Juneau’s Mike Miller, and maintained by long-time JDHS swim coach John Wray until 2007 when he passed it on to Anchorage swim coach Cliff Murray, the list is the “Holy Grail” or “Hall of Fame” for state high school swimmers.

The JDHS girls hold the top 200-yard medley relay state record.

The 2007 Crimson Bears swam a time of one minute, 47.86 seconds. Jenna Rutecki (backstroke), Lia Heifetz (breaststroke), Kristin Jones (butterfly) and Sara Bogert (freestyle) were part of a senior class of nine that swam or still swim at college (Melissa Bogert, Sarah Felix, Mimiko “Koko” Urata, Amber Kelly and MacKenzie Allison).

The JDHS boys hold the 200 medley relay record as well with a 1:36.33 mark set in 2009 by Cody Brunette (back), Seth Cayce (breast), Tyler Mickelson (fly) and Nick Rutecki (free). All are college swimmers.

This season’s JDHS girls lead the state with 1:48.77. Haley Mertz, Dakota Isaak, Auri Clark and Ciera Kelly need to shave one second for a new all-time state mark. One second behind them are Ketchikan’s Isabel Stephens, Kassandra Klose, Janelle Stacey and Ella Sherrill (1:49.89).

The relays are JDHS’ next shot for a title. Their four top swimmers can drop seconds in combination, but that can work in reverse as well. The Lathrop girls of 1999 own the 200 (1:36.36) and 400 (3:31.88) freestyle relays; and the Dimond boys of 1998 hold their gender’s 200 (1:26.56) and 400 (3:09.70). The JDHS girls are third (1:37.90, 2006) and third (3:35.62, 2007), respectively. The JDHS boys are second (1:26.83, 2008) and third (3:14.70, 2010). The 2011 JDHS girls are seeded first in the 200 but need to drop over 10 seconds and are fifth in the 400. The TMHSHS boys are fifth in the 200 and 400.

Individually, Brunette holds the boys’ 200 freestyle mark of 1:40.58 set in 2008; Crimson Bears alum Kyle O’Brien is second with 1:41.17, set in 2006. TMHS’ Calvin Walsh is seeded eighth and JDHS’ Tatsu Monkman 11th this season.

The girl’s 200 freestyle record of 1:50.02 was set in 2007 by East’s Megan Cavanaugh; JDHS’ Melissa Bogert has seventh (1:54.21, 2007). Clark and Claressa Ullmayer seven seconds behind this season.

The boy’s 200 individual medley time of 1:53.51 was set by Lathrop’s John Rogers (2009). Brunette is second with 1:54.79 (2009), Scott Peterson third in 1:55.23 (1991) and Paul Hughes 11th (1:56.59, 2002). JDHS’ Calder Otsea and TMHS’ Tanner Olliff need to drop 10 seconds this meet.

West’s Sarah Rockwell leads the girls with 2:07.70 set in 1991 and no JDHS or Thunder Mountain swimmer is in the mix yet. JDHS’ Mertz, Isaak S. Cayce and TMHS’ Hannah Brockmann could change that on Saturday.

Lathrop’s Maria Reeves leads the 50 Freestyle with 23.33 (1998); JDHS’ Sarah Bogert is fifth in 23.87 (2006) and JDHS’ Jesie Lewis 10th with 24.08 (1997). This season’s speedsters Kelly and Talyn Ramos need to drop one second.

Service’s Andrew Tainter leads the boy’s side with a 20.91 (1996) and JDHS’ Nick Rutecki is fifth at 21.18 (2008). This season’s TMHS blazers Kenny Fox and Thane Reishus-O’Brien need to lose two seconds.

East’s Cavanaugh also topped the 100 Butterfly with 55.59 (2007) and JDHS’ M. Bogert is third in 56.15 (2007). Brunette has the boy’s mark with 49.19 (2008) and JDHS’ Ole Shelton (1996) is tied for 11th with Mickelson (2010) at 52.08. Kelly and Clarke need to lose three seconds, Ketchikan’s Stacey just one. JDHS’ Messing and TMHS’ Fox must drop five.

Ketchikan’s Laura Miller has the 100 freestyle mark of 51.17 (2006) and JDHS’ Sara Bogert is sixth (52.01, 2006) and Lewis seventh (52.30, 1997). Kenai’s Winter Heaven has the boy’s record with 46.25 (2010) and Rutecki is seventh (46.71, 2008). JDHS’ Ramos and S. Cayce need to lose five seconds on the girl’s side while Calder Otsea is three seconds from the boys.

Chugiak’s Kayla Meirergerd owns the 500 Freestyle record with 4:56.55 (1998) and JDHS’ Kristin Jones is fourth (5:05.50, 2006). Service’s Ben Smith holds a top time of 4:37.85 (1990) with O’Brien in ninth (4:44.08, 2006). Ullmayer is 30 seconds off the girls pace; JDHS’ Tatsu Monkman and TMHS’ Walsh are equally off the boys.

Ketchikan’s Janelle Stacey set the fastest 100 Backstroke this season with 56.33 and Kodiak’s Laura Griffing leads the 100 Breaststroke with 1:04.50 (2010). No JDHS or TMHS swimmers have cracked the list yet. JDHS’ Mertz will need to drop three seconds in the back while Isaak is the favorite in the breast. J. Cayce and TMHS’ Hannah Brockmann swim here.

The boy’s 100 backstroke record belongs to Dimond’s Christ Geitz (51.91, 1994) and JDHS’ Scott Peterson is second (52.04, 1991). JDHS’ Nathan Messing is sixth with this season’s swim of 53.05, a time he will try to better on Saturday. Sitka’s Louis Belley will bring a 54.32 to state.

The boy’s 100 breaststroke record is Soldotna’s Joshua Gemmell’s in 56.40 (2000). JDHS’ Hughes is fifth (58.10, 2002). TMHS’ Luke Brockmann and Reishus-O’Brien need to drop six seconds on Saturday.

State diving stats were not available. TMHS’ Matt Seagren is seeded seventh, JDHS’ Keith Andrews 10th and TMHS’ Hunter Nicholson 16th.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 06/20/2018 - 07:07

Little League names all-star teams

The Gastineau Channel Little League announced on Sunday and Monday the Major Baseball, Major Softball and Junior Baseball and Junior Softball all-star teams.

Read more