TMHS grapplers 6th, JDHS 13th at Kayhi

Both Thunder Mountain and Juneau-Douglas finished a bit off the mark in comparison to conference rival, and host Ketchikan, at the Bill Wiess Invitational wrestling meet last weekend.


The Falcons finished sixth with 58 team points and the Crimson Bears were 13th with 13 points and neither school had an individual weight champion.

“This was just to get them some matches,” JDHS head coach John Smith said. “We even set up exhibition matches on the side. I think kids learn more at the tournaments than they do in the gym. With only two weeks of practice this wasn’t bad.”

Mt. Edgecumbe finished first with 212 points, Craig was second with 141, Ketchikan third with 130, Sitka fourth (107), and Wrangell fifth (106). Thorne Bay finished seventh (43), Petersburg eighth (36.5), Hydaburg ninth (24), Metlakatla 10th (21), Haines 11th (19.5), Yakutat 12th (14) and Klawock was 14th (0).

The championship matches and top finishers were:

At 106 pounds, SHS’ Darin Davis won by fall over CHS’ Marcus Martin at the 1:43 mark of round one. Final standings included: 1. Davis, SHS; 2) Martin, CHS; 3) Blazina, YHS; 4) Jackson, MEHS; 5) Slayton, TBHS; 6) Toyomura, PHS.

At 113 pounds, CHS’ Tanner Thain won by technical fall over MEHS’ Melissa Fischer 15-0 in the second round. The Crimson Bears’ David Dumesil posted a 1-3 record here.

Final standings: 1) Thain, CHS; 2) Fischer, MEHS; 3) Spencer, KHS; 4) Collins, CHS; 5) Thorstensen, PHS; 6) Dumesil, JDHS.

At 120 pounds, CHS’ Willie Brand won by decision over KHS’ Isaac Lontz 8-3. Final standings: 1) Brand, CHS; 2) Lontz, KHS; 3) Burke, PHS; 4) Charles, Hydaburg; 5) Prus, PHS.

At 126 pounds, SHS’ Jarren Samauang won by fall over CHS’ Tucker Thain at the 3:02 mark in round two. Final standings: 1) Samauang, SHS; 2) Thain, CHS; 3) Turcott, PHS; 4) Joe, MEHS; 5) Ojedo, KHS; 6) Hudson, KHS.

At 132 pounds, SHS’ Will Patrick won by major decision over MEHS’s Daniel Villasenior 11-1. Final standings: 1) Patrick, SHS; 2) Villasenior, MEHS; 3) Brooks, PHS; 4) Fitch, CHS; 5) Martinsen, PHS; 6) Barr, KHS.

At 138 pounds, WHS’ Kurt Dingwall won by decision over CHS’ Josh Kerstein 7-2. The Falcons Thomas Riley posted a 3-1 record here. Final standings: 1) Dingwall, WHS; 2) Kerstein, CHS; 3) Riley, TMHS; 4) Jackson, MEHS; 5) Collins, KHS; 6) Marshall, WHS.

At 145 pounds, WHS’ Tanner Thomassen won by fall over MEHS’s Franklin Hoogendorn at the 1:41 of round one. JDHS’ Sam Adams and William Lott went 0-2 here. Final standings: 1) Thomassen, WHS; 2) Hoogendorn, MEHS; 3) Licari, SHS; 4) Chadwell, KHS; 5) DeBoer, KHS 6) Veelle, WHS

At 152 pounds, KHS’ Kenny Hamilton won by decision over Haines’ Jimmy Thomsen 3-1 in over time. JDHS’ Malik Brown went 0-2 here. Final standings: 1) Hamilton, KHS; 2) Thomsen, Haines; 3) Slayton, TBHS; 4) Burnham, CHS; 5) Stevens, WHS; 6) Gaube, MHS.

At 160 pounds, TBHS’ Anthony Minnillo won by major decision over KHS’ Dalton Spear 8-0. The Crimson Bears’ Ilkka Kettunea posted a 3-2 mark here and the Falcons’ Brylie Yadao went 2-3. Final standings: 1) Minnillo, TBHS; 2) Spear, KHS; 3) Boord, SHS; 4) Hautala, MEHS; 5) Kettunea, JDHS; 6) Yadao, TMHS.

At 170 pounds, MEHS’s Michael Matthew won by decision over WHS’ Devon Miller 5-0. The Falcons’ Jackson Pavitt finished in fourth with a 1-2 record. Final standings: 1) Matthew, MEHS; 2) Miller, WHS; 3) Ward, CHS; 4) Pavitt, TMHS; 5) Seaman, PHS; 6) Davo Wake, KHS.

At 182 pounds, MEHS’ Shyler Johnson won by major decision over Hydaburg’s Donald Edenshaw 10-0. The Falcons’ Stephen Patz was fourth at 1-2 and the Crimson Bears’ Jerry Hudson fifth with a 1-2 record. Final standings: 1) Johnson, MEHS; 2) Edenshaw, Hydaburg; 3) Barger, WHS; 4) Patz, TMHS; 5) Hudson, JDHS; 6) Sanford, MHS.

At 195 pounds, MEHS’ Gusty Akelkok won by fall over WHS’ Lorenzo Silva. The Falcons’ Matt Abrams finished third with a 2-1 record. Final standings included: 1) Akelkok, MEHS; 2) Silva, WHS; 3) Abrams, TMHS; 4) Gudgel, PHS; 5) Jayson Frizzell, KHS; 6) Milne, MHS.

At 220 pounds, MEHS’ Paul Johanson pinned MHS’ Triston Alexander at the 1:50 mark of round one. Final standings: 1) Johanson, MEHS; 2) Alexander, MHS; 3) Marlin Guthrie, KHS.

In the 285 pound, or heavyweight, division, MEHS’ Jaylin Prince pinned KHS’ Cody Ring at the 1:21 mark of round one. Final standings: 1) Prince, MEHS; 2) Ring, KHS 3) Vera, MHS.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Thu, 06/21/2018 - 07:17

Checking in with Naomi Welling

Little League names all-star teams

The Gastineau Channel Little League announced on Sunday and Monday the Major Baseball, Major Softball and Junior Baseball and Junior Softball all-star teams.

Read more