Trotting to the finish on Thanksgiving

When awarding some of the top prizes at Thursday’s Douglas Island Turkey Trot, race attendant Katherine Paulick turned to a group dressed in red turkey wattles and tail feathers and said, “I am giving these to the whole flock, I am sure there is a pecking order to distribute them.”


More than 60 participants ran, walked or broke trail during the second annual holiday event that followed a path out of Savikko Park and back along the Treadwell Mines Trails.

The best costume was determined to be Leslie “Corn” Gauntt, Megan “Green Beans” Haas, Maggie “Gravy” Sugrue and Liz “Cranberry” MIntyre who dressed as cans of corn, green beans, gravy and cranberry sauce.

Sharon Forrest won a haircut for bringing the most canned food items, a requirement as a race entry fee. The canned goods are then donated to the community food bank. The Island Pub, Douglas Café, AK Auto Repair and Little Mermaid Beauty Salon donated prizes.

The top finisher over the 3.2-mile course was Houston Laws in 25 minutes and 20 seconds, Bryan Hitchcock was second in 25:32 and visiting Stanford University diver Tommy Fraychineaud, who ran in shorts, finished third in 25:34.

Cathleen Balantic was the fourth place finisher (25:35) and as top woman runner received a gift certificate for lunch for two.

The next finishers are listed with times in parenthesis: Kevin Hansen (26:32), Eric Feldt (26:32), Megan Buzby (26:47), Dan Robinson (27:51), Bob Hopson (28:09), Paul Desloover (28:12), Ben Van Alen (30:00), Don Bremner (30:05), Russell Stigall (31:51), Justin Smith (32:02), Natalie Powers (32.03), Kurt Hopewell (33:12), Heidi Peterson (33:14), Ariel Ginn (34:08), Paul Dick (34:23), Dave Mitchell (34:24), Susan Pollard (34:45), Mary Donaldson (35:02), Clare Saint Gabriel (35:27), Sara Raster (35:47), Holly Rebert (36:27), Sherry Tamone (36:47), Robert Luna (37:17), Sharon Forrest (37:24), Jessy Kidd (37:30), Brendan Sullivan (37:37), Stephanie DeRoo (37:41), Tanya Morgan (38:03), Amanda Fisher (38:27), Carri Fisher (38:27), Ruth Kostick (38:32), Marcelle Loveday (38:35), Mark Minor (38:51), Frances Field (38:53), Amelia Jenkins (39:00), Kaili Jackson (39:09), Carleen Mitchell (39:39), Andrew Duboy (41:45), Tiana Parduhn (42:47), Megan Wallace (43:14), Tisha Gieser (45:44), Teresa Young (45:47), Margie Thomson (46:36), Joyanne Bloom (46:38), Ingrid Fraychineaud (58:12), Tim Fraychineaud (58:14), Colton Johns (58:56), Judy Levernier (58:58), Molly Hillis (59:00), Bette Larsen (61:31).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Fri, 01/19/2018 - 05:57

North Pole series on tap for JDHS

Fri, 01/19/2018 - 05:57

Empire will be live streaming home basketball games

The Juneau Empire will be live streaming local basketball games exclusively online at

Read more