Moritz and Peel claim first JSC slalom races of season

Juneau Ski Club junior’s Naomi Moritz and Peter Peel won their respective ladies and men’s slalom races on Hillarys Course at Eaglecrest on Sunday.


Lacking only cowbells and fog horns a hearty cheering section was on hand for the Don Able’s Shirt Co. Slalom, the first U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association race of the 2012 season at Eaglecrest.

“Club athlete’s have been training and working hard this season and it showed on race day,” JSC coach Dan Ord said.

Sunday’s competition was for J1 thru J4 racers. Years of birth from 1992-94 are J1, 1995-96 is J2, 1997-98 is J3, and 1999-00 is J4.

Peel, J1, bettered his 41.08 seconds 1st run with a 37.03 2nd run in the Slalom Men race, finishing with an overall time of 1:18.11, while Moritz, J2, blazed through her 1st run in 47.03 and the 2nd in 43.02 and posted a total of 1:30.23.

Weather conditions were clear, cold and sunny, with an emphasis on cold. Racing conditions were fast throughout the course.

Matthew Vandor, J1, was second by a ski tip in 1:18:53 (42.14, 36.39) and Shane Kelly, J3, third at 1:29.67 (46.39, 43.28).

Final results for the junior Slalom Men included 4th, Joseph Greenough, J2, with (48.44, 44.11) 1:32.55; 5th Cody Weldon, J3, (50.81, 46.03) 1:36.84; 6th Brian Vandor, J1, (1:04.20, 36.36) 1:40.56; 7th Noah Spengler, J3, (51.61, 51.18) 1:42.79; 8th Ronan J Davies J4, (54.15, 48.75) 1:42.90; 9th Gabriel A Cohen, J3, (1:02.40, 54.91) 1:57.31; 10th Jake Marnon, J4, (1:04.43, 1:00.66) 2:05.09: and 11th London Madrid, J4, (1:17.94, 1:10.94) 2:28.88.

James Whitney, J4, and Forest Kohabyashi, J3, did not start the first run and Christopher Cummins, J2, did not finish the first run.

Quincy Bates, J3, finished second in the junior Slalom Ladies with 1:32.05 (48.69, 43.36) and Adrienne M Audet, J3, was third in 1:33.20 (48.16, 45.04).

Final results for the junior Slalom Ladies included: 4th Dorothy Chapman, J4, (56.81, 50.15) 1:46.96; 5th Sabrina Jones, J4, (1:02.45, 57.50) 1:59.95; 6th Jessie Gregg, J4, 1:03.44, 57.78) 2:01.22; 7th Laurie Balstad, J4, (1:04.53, 58.14) 2:02.67; 8th Jeanne Lin Muller, J3 (1:04.76, 59.69) 2:04.45; 9th Dunya Hermann, J3, (1:06.31, 58.82) 2:05.13.

Hailley J Jones, J4, and Rebekka Ord, J2, did not start the first run. Katelyn Redekopp, J4, was disqualified on the first run and Gabriella Hebert, J3, and Alexandra Hiley, J2, were disqualified on the second run.

Younger competitors, J5’s, raced after and results were not immediately available.

“With a great snow year and Eaglecrest’s awesome efforts in prepping a top notch race hill, the Juneau ski club kids are going to be hard hitting competition for the state cup this year,” Ord said. “The club’s future is looking up. The DEVO gang is full of young talented skiers. Eaglecrest is a great play ground for the kids and the Ski Club can put on a great race. Everyone’s smiling.”


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sat, 05/19/2018 - 11:34

Falcons softball dominates Lady Kings