Service takes down State High School Wrestling Championship

Ketchikan 15th, JDHS 18th, TMHS 19th
JDHS' 113-pound David Dumesnil, TMHS' 132-pound Thomas Riley, 160-pound Jackson Pavitt, 182-pound Stephen Patz, and JDHS' 182-pound Jerry Hudson will all move on to the state wrestling championships next weekend at Bartlett High School in Anchorage.

Juneau-Douglas High School scored 9 points and Thunder Mountain 8.5 points at last weekend’s Alaska 4A High School Wrestling Championships hosted by Bartlett High School in Anchorage.


The Crimson Bears finished 18th and the Falcons 19th out of 20 teams. Ketchikan finished in 15th position with 27 points.

JDHS had just two wresters in the tournament, David Dumesnil at 113-pounds and Jerry JD Hudson.

Dumesnil (1-2) lost by pin to South’s Zach Ritchie, won by pin over Chugiak’s Ron Wagoner, and lost by pin to Kodiak’s Jay-Ar Small.

Hudson (2-2) lost by pin to Kenai’s Tyler Brown, won by pin over Dimond’s Gabriel Mayo, won by pin over Colony’s Seth Root, and lost by pin to Palmer’s Caleb Nielson.

TMHS featured Thomas Riley at 132-pounds, Jackson Pavitt at 160-pounds, and Stephen Patz at 182-pounds.

Riley (2-2) won by 7-5 decision over Chugiak’s Jacob Wenzl, lost by pin to South’s Johnny Hogenson, won by 16-0 technical fall over North Pole’s Garrett Wollman, and lost by 13-3 major decision to East’s Dwayne Townes.

Pavitt (1-2) won by pin over Eagle River’s Dylan Simmons, lost by 12-1 major decision to Colony’s Simon Root, and lost by pin to Eagle River’s Nathan Gorski.

Patz (0-2) lost by pin to Wasilla’s Alex Fuller, and lost by pin to South’s Jacob Hoover.

Ketchikan had two wrestlers in the top six placing: 145-pound Shiloh Mackey (3-3) finished sixth; and 152-pound Kenny Hamilton (2-3) finished sixth;

Service won the team title with 250.5 points, 2 Wasilla 214.5, 3 Kodiak 201.5, 4 South Anchorage 142, 5 East Anchorage 135, 6 Palmer 123, 7 Lathrop 121.5, 8 Chugiak 117, 9 Colony 85.5, 10 West Anchorage 85.5, 11 Eagle River 59, 12 North Pole 48, 13 West Valley 44, 14 Soldotna 38, 15 Ketchikan 27, 16 Bartlett 26, 17 Kenai 16, 18 Juneau 9, 19 Thunder Mountain 8.5, 20 Dimond 8.

The finals matches were:

106-pounds, Kodiak’s Andrew Caballa won by 11-0 major decision over East’s Kyle Willard; 113-pounds, Lathrop’s Andrew Hendrix by 5-0 decision over Service’s Alex Nanez; 120-pounds, Wasilla’s Abe Fox by 3-2 decision over Kodiak’s Francis Llorente; 126-pounds, Service’s John Pounds by 9-2 decision over North Pole’s Cody Decker; 132-pounds, Lathrop’s Dillon Achman by 6-4 overtime against Kodiak’s Cameron White; 138-pounds, Service’s Jacob Lunsford by pin over Wasilla’s Nate McKimson; 145-pounds, Wasilla’s Tyler Adams by 9-7 decision over Soldotna’s Auston Tennis; 152-pounds, Service’s Rilen Skieens by 6-2 decision over West’s Pedro Pena; 160-pounds, Service’s Daniel Murkami by 5-2 decision over Colony’s Simon Root; 170-pounds, East’s Josh Wiggins by 5-2 decision over Service’s Frankie Dunbar; 182-pounds, Chugiak’s Garrett Morrison by 14-5 major decision over Kodiak’s Charlie Johnson; 195-pounds, Service’s Stephen Ellis by pin over West’s Jacob Crews; 220-pounds, Colony’s Ty Farber by 15-9 decision over Service’s Derek Zorea; 285-pounds, Bartlett’s Caleb Green by 4-3 decision over Service’s Eric Pili.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback