Crosstown showdown for Crimson Bears and Falcons varsity boys and girls cagers / Photos

Senior recognition night for Juneau-Douglas on Friday at JD Senior recognition for Thunder Mountain on Saturday at TM

The best of both worlds collide this weekend as the varsity basketball programs at Juneau-Douglas and Thunder Mountain High Schools meet in a home-and-home regular season ending hoops gala.

The contests will not affect the standings heading into the Region V Championships next weekend at Ketchikan but will be of greater importance in that they will be the final test run before a shot at reaching the state tournament in March.

Possibly of even more importance is the honors that will be bestowed the senior athletes on their final game on their home courts.

The Crimson Bears will honor their seniors involved in the basketball season on Friday at JD gymnasium and the Falcons will honor theirs on Saturday at the Thunderdome.

The night will be a long evening of athletic entertainment and performance.

If the community isn’t already aware of the efforts of the TMHS boys participation in Gov. Sean Parnell’s Choose Respect and Alaska Men Choose Respect campaigns they will be after Saturday evening. A pledge drive will be conducted and JDHS coach Robert Casperson and his Crimson Bears will be signing on. Fans should also look for TMHS soccer coaches Ryan Walters and Sam Greely and members of AWARE and other volunteers who will be offering encouragement and information. Don’t be surprised to see the Mansion Duo of Sean and Sandy spinning a ball on their fingers as well.

Boys Basketball:

JDHS - Lance Ibesate, Tony Yadao, Austin Shoemaker, Alec Calloway, Taylor Swofford, Evan Gross, Jesse Miller, Ryan Kelly, Darien Stanger, Monico Yadao,

TMHS – Camden Thomas, Allen Shaw, Coltin Lanz, manager Janessa Sabei and manager Sarah Neira.

Girls Basketball:

JDHS - Nicole George, Sierra Tagaban.

TMHS - Shale Kibby and Kinsey Marshall.

Basketball Cheer And Stunt Team:

JDHS - Krista Bontrager – Manager, Caitlyn Bossio – Manager, Richielle Corpuz, Lindsey Endicott, Jerick Ibias, Haley Klementson, Chelsea Kilgore, Angela Pintang, Dylan Skrzynski, Rina Soriano.

TMHS – Chaleb Calandra, Alexa Duran, James Gilchrest, and Dawn Shane.

Dance Team:

JDHS - Angela Endicott, Danica Paguio, Vanessa Camba.

TMHS - Megan Clough and Jeslie Villaverde.

Pep Band:

JDHS - Fiona Brown, Colton Welch, Alan Young, Ian Andrews, Zeb Bodine, Jacob Taug, Alex Matheson, Deborah Cordero, Kelsey Savikko, Matthew Staley.

TMHS - Nathalie Aguirre, Krysty Carter, MaKenzie DeRego, Taylor Edwards, Teresa Rose, Wilson Suzuki.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 01/17/2018 - 05:57

Juneau Empire Player of the Week

Wed, 01/17/2018 - 07:43

Griggs fourth at Girdwood meet