Final results from Southeast Region V hoops tournaments

Region V 3A/4A tournament awards from Ketchikan

4A boys and girls champions: Juneau-Douglas High School. Boy’s runner-up Thunder Mountain, girl’s runner-up Ketchikan.


3A boys and girls champions: Sitka High School. Boys runner-up Mt. Edgecumbe, girl’s runner-up Craig.

4A girls All-Conference team: Juneau-Douglas – Gabi Fenumiai, Marissa Brakes, Esra Siddeek; Ketchikan – Jayley Taylor, Melissa Elliott; Thunder Mountain – Jonelle Staveland.

4A boys All-Conference: Thunder Mountain – Ben Jahn; Juneau-Douglas – Tony Yadao, Lance Ibesate, Alec Calloway; Ketchikan – Kyle Day, Travis Taylor.

Free Throw Contest Winners: Girls – JDHS Esra Siddeek; Boys – Kayhi’s Kyle Day.

4A Cheer champions: Juneau-Douglas High School.

3A Cheer champions: Sitka High School, runner-up Mt. Edgecumbe.

Sportsmanship Award: Haines High School.

Good Sport and All-Academic not available via press time.

3A boys All-Conference: Petersburg – Taylor Pullar; Craig – DJ Almenzor; Metlakatla – Tadd Yliniemi, Erik Hudson; Haines – Tyler Swinton; Wrangell – Clayton Stokes; Mt. Edgecumbe – Kacy Green, Jaylin Prince, Dominique Hall; Sitka – Bae Widmier, Mik Potrzuski, Devan Romine.

3A girls All-Conference: Craig – Melissa Castle, Maggie Dinon; Petersburg – Carolyn Kvernvik, Emily Luczak; Sitka – Sariah Ady, Katina Wathen, Hunter Huddleston; Haines – Hannah Wing; Wrangell – Loni Buness; Metlakatla – Theresa Willington-McGilton; Mt. Edgecumbe – Brandi Hale.

The Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears boys and girls took any bragging rights for top Southeast basketball team away from 3A champion Sitka on Saturday.

The JDHS girls topped 3A region champ Sitka 50-44. Leading 12-8 after one period of play and 23-19 at the break the Crimson Bears showed resolve by regaining a lead they lost at the end of the third quarter when they trailed 34-33. Gabi Fenumiai was unstoppable against Sitka’s Sariah Ady inside. Fenumiai scored a game-high 26 points and wing Esra Siddeek added 18, Marissa Brakes six, Kaitlin Fagerstrom and Kayla Balovich two apiece. Ady led the Wolves with 14 points, Sid Riggs nine, Megan Reid eight, Hunter Huddleston five, Kelsie Kubitch and Katina Wathen four apiece.

The JDHS boys kept an aggressive Sitka Wolves team from getting Southeast bragging rights with a 42-36 win. Sitka took a 13-11 first quarter lead, JDHS regained the quarter break advantage at 23-22 and the third quarter spread with 36-34 and then defensively put the clamps on the Wolves, allowing just two buckets in the final eight minutes of play.

Lance Ibesate had a game-high 12 points and eight assists, Tony Yadao added seven points, Austin Shoemaker and Alec Calloway six, Evan Gross five, Phillip Fenumiai three, Jeffrey Pusich and Darien Stanger two apiece. Sitka was led by Devan Romine’s 10 points, Mik Patrzuski had nine, Bae Widmier and Shad Puletau five apiece, John Dela Cruz four, and Hunter Lee three.

The Sitka boys defeated Mt. Edgecumbe 53-48 on Friday for the 3A Region championship and number one southeast seed for state. The Braves battled back through the losers bracket to defeat Metlakatla 59-47 on Saturday for the number two state seed.

The Sitka girls earned the 3A southeast one seed for state tourney play by stopping Craig 48-37 in the championship game on Friday. The Lady Panthers battled through the losers bracket to defeat Mt. Edgecumbe 58-52 on Saturday for the number two seed from southeast.


The Yakutat Eagles’ boys defeated the Hydaburg Warriors 55-52 in the 2A championship game and the Eagles are the number one southeast seed for state. The Warriors battled back in the losers bracket to defeat Thorne Bay 66-37 for the second seed to state.

The Klawock Lady Chieftains defeated Yakutat 62-57 in overtime for the 2A girl’s championship and the number one seed to state. Yakutat went through the loser’s bracket and defeated Skagway 39-28 for the number two seed at state.

2A Team Sportsmanship Award: Thorne Bay High School.

2A Free Throw Champions: Girls - Skagway’s Anna Korsmo; Boys -Yakutat’s Kalani Russell.

2A Three-Point Contest Champions: Girls – Skagway’s Rori Leaverton; Boys – Yakutat’s Robert Sensmeier.

2A girls All-Conference selections: Hoonah – Ashia Geise; Klawock – Tonya Busse, Cassie Williams, Sara Carle; Skagway – Rori Leaverton, Anna Korsmo; Thorne Bay – Taylee Nyquest; Yakutat – Tina Esbenshade, Nadine Fraker, Amanda Isrealson.

2A boys All-Conference selections: Angoon – Duncan O’Brien; Hoonah – Cameron Smith, Chathem Wolfe; Hydaburg – Anthony Edenshaw, William Carle, Donald Edenshaw; Klawock – Tye Morgan, Sam Rew; Skagway – Blake Fletcher; Thorne Bay – Tryston Nyquest, Anthony Minnillo; Yakutat – Robert Sensmeier, Jake Taylor, Billy Brown.

2A Great Sport Awards (Recognition is earned by individual players whose performance during the regular season best exemplifies the highest standards of sportsmanship on and off the court and are a credit to their schools and communities): Angoon – Shaenel Gambel, Patricia O’Brien, Jamil Guanzon, Duncan O’Brien; Hoonah Brandi Roberts, Ashia Geise, Torston Skafelstad; Hydaburg – Donald Edenshaw, Andrew Kasheverof; Kake – Marty Lopez, Charles Jackson; Klawock – Erin Soderberg, Ashley Tomkinson, Tyrus Morgan, Dylan George; Skagway – Polly Brown, Jade Cook, Trysten Burnham, Clark Germishuys, Danny Moore; Thorne Bay – Meghan Cook, Hannah Gunkel, Nathan Wagner, Anthony Minnillo; Yakutat – Cyndal Klushkan, Clara Lord, Robert Lekanof, Marcos Weinrick.

2A All Academic team (Senior students who over the course of their entire high school career have earned a cumulative Grade Point Average of 3.0 or higher): Angoon – Dominique Demmert, Frank McCluskey Jr.; Hydaburg - Anthony Edenshaw; Klawock – Erin Soderberg, Danielle Larson; Skagway – Jayce Ellis, Rori Leaverton, Anna Korsmo, Daniel Moore; Thorne Bay – Meghan Cook, Alex Slayton, Andrew Rawding; Yakutat – Christina Esbenshade, Amanda Israelson, Kaitlyn Ivers, Savannah Beckstrom, Robert Sensmeier, Jacob Taylor, Marcos Weinrick.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback