Champions crowned at middle school hoops tournament

Mike Jackson Memorial HoopTime Shoot Out

The championship games for the Mike Jackson Memorial HoopTime Shoot Out were held on Saturday at Thunder Mountain High School. The middle school age basketball tournament featured both boy and girl A, B and C brackets.


Thirty-one teams battled through 90 games in four days. Teams from Angoon, Barrow, Fairbanks, Juneau, Kake, Petersburg and Sitka played hard and displayed great sportsmanship throughout the tournament.

Saturday’s championship action results included:

Girls C bracket - Barrow defeated HoopTime Red 57-28.

All tourney: Paige Goodwin (Barrow), Kuutuug Danner (Barrow), Alyssa Pili (Barrow), Kendyl Caeson (HoopTme Red), Caitlen Pusich (HoopTme Red), Morgab Balovich (HoopTme Red), Tatum Baine (Sitka), Mackenzie Campbell (Sitka), Baily Stuart (Haines), Maddie Ayer (HoopTime Blue).

Girls B bracket - Barrow 30 Haines 22.

All tourney selections: Cynthia Kim (Barrow), Alvina Walgemuth (Barrow), Rose Hopson (Barrow), Kaley Swinton (Haines), Skylar McGuire (Haines), Hailey Denkinger (Sitka), Zoe Krupa (Sitka), Sophie Aceveda (Kake), Lonnie Echiverri (HoopTime), Mary Ray (Angoon).

Girls A bracket - Petersburg 49 Hoop Rats 38.

All tourney selections: Kylie Wallace (Petersburg), Kyla Willis (Petersburg), Sarah Kote (Petersburg), Ava Tompkins (Hoop Rats), Siniva Maka (Hoop Rats), Christina Arehart (HoopTime), Tyra Do (Fairbanks).

Boys C bracket – HoopTime6 Red 60 Haines 27.

All tourney selections: Owen Mendoza (HT6R), Erik Kelly (HT6R), Josh McAndrews (HT6R), Dylan Swinton (Haines), Charlie Barnes (Haines), Mori Hays (Haines),

Bryson Echiverri (HT5R), Israel Yadao (HT5R), Angelo Garcia (HoopTime 6B), Bernie Yadao (HoopTime5 B).

Boys B bracket - Petersburg 57 HoopTime Red 39.

All tourney selections: Kjell Whittstock (Petersburg), Jesse Lenteigne (Petersburg), Jordan Lapeyri (Petersburg), Mahina Toutialepo (Hooptime Red), Noah Reshus Obrian (Hooptime Red), GM Ladhi (Sitka), Isaiah Prinacio (Sitka), Jerry Sibleary (Angoon), John Morris (Hooptime blue).

Boys A bracket - HoopTime Red 53 Hoop Rats 23.

All tourney selections: Mo Bullock (HoopTime Red), Daunte Sims (HoopTime Red), Shane Mielke (HoopTime Red), Moah Maka (Hoop Rats), Molo Maka (Hoop Rats), Tevin Baine (Sitka), Baldomero Aceved (Kake).

The season starts in January and runs through Mike Jackson Memorial tourney. During the course of the 2012 season, HoopTime teams played tournaments in Haines, Petersburg and Sitka.

In April, both a boys and girls 8th grade travel team will be participating in an AAU sanctioned tournament in Las Vegas.

The mission of HoopTime Basketball is to provide highly qualified and motivated coaches to teach fundamental and advanced basketball skills to middle school aged student athletes who desire the opportunity to play in a competitive, dedicated, supportive and disciplined team environment. The HoopTime board’s stated goal is to make sure these young athletes are not only prepared to play quality high school ball, but to also make sure that they know the importance of education and being a good citizen. HoopTime is a non-profit organization.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 04/18/2018 - 15:31

Prep softball begins conference play on the road

Season preview for Thunder Mountain and Juneau-Douglas high schools.

Read more