Masters hoopsters put season to rest

The Masters Basketball Association champions, Team Alliance. (kneeling l-r) Frank Arabaca, Frank Cornell, Leon Aceveda, Sean Joslyn. (standing l-r) Kent Durand, Dean Rasmussen, Ken Hildre, Guy Tompkins, Doug Drazkowski, Frank Tompkins, coach John Martin Sr.

Juneau’s Masters Basketball Association recently completed their season of adrenalin infused and Ben Gay laced action on the courts.


The Juneau MBA is a self-run league of four teams with all players being 45 years young and more mature. A player exception for each team exists which permits each team to have two players 42 years old and older.

The regular season standings saw C.B General in first place with a record of 25 wins and 5 losses. In second place were Juneau Old’r Timers with 17 win and 13 losses; in third place was Team Alliance with 10 wins and 20 losses and fourth place belonged to Taku Oil with 8 wins and 22 losses.

The teams started tournament play with a double elimination format with the Juneau Old’r Timers being the first team eliminated at 0-2 and Taku Oil existing next at 1-2.

The championship game pitted C.B. General and their 1-1 record against Team Alliance at 2-0.

Sources say it was a hard fought game with Team Alliance jumping out to an early double figure lead only to find C.B. General fighting back to take a one-point lead with 10 minutes left in regulation. Team Alliance regained the lead and held on to win the title 106-98.

Team Alliance was led by Sean Joslyn’s 21 points, Frank Cornell added 20 and Frank Tompkins 15. C.B General’s leading scorers were Al Tagaban with a game-high 41 points and Norm Staten with 12.

Winning team members were Joslyn, Cornell, Frank Tompkins, Frank Arabaca, Leon Aceveda, Kent Durand, Dean Rasmussen, Ken Hildre, Guy Tompkins, Doug Drazkowski and coach John Martin Sr.

Runner-up C.B. General team members are Tagaban, Staten, Ben Cornell, Bill Ehlers, Will Whitehead, Jim Dalman, John Forschemer, Charlie Madlock, Ken Kreitzer, Lonnie Anderson, Bob Spitzfaden and Ron Hansen.

Referees for the game were Chris Hanson and James Mercer and score/time keeper was Sandy Williams.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback