Region V all-conference baseball team selected

Five local baseball players, three from Thunder Mountain and two from Juneau-Douglas, were selected to the Region V All-Conference team at the region tournament in Petersburg last week.

Each team’s coaching staff is allowed to submit up to five players from their own team and the names are put into a voting pool. Each team’s coaching staff then votes for 12 top players based on conference play. Conference winner Sitka had four selections, conference second place and Region Champion Juneau-Douglas had two, conference third place Thunder Mountain had three, fourth place ketchikan one, and Craig and Petersburg one.

Chosen were: Nels Swenson, Brian Way, Jake Licari and Devin Romine (Sitka); J.R. Markovich, Patrick Millay and Chris Luck (Thunder Mountain); Ryan Kelly and Lance Ibesate (Juneau-Douglas); Brian Auger (Ketchikan); Taylor Pullar (Petersburg); and Karl Benolken (Craig).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback