JDHS Crimson Bears basketball team awards announced

The Juneau-Douglas Crimson Bears boy’s basketball team held their season ending banquet last week to honor parents, coaches and players.

The JV special awards (as voted by the players) were: Most Inspirational- Monico Yadao; Most Improved- Ben Williams; Most Hustle- Nathan Klein; Best Defense- Nathan Klein; Most Valuable- Aquino brinson.

The Varsity statistical awards: Mr. Clutch- (highest freethrow %) Tony Yadao; 2 point marksman- (highest 2pt fg %) Alec Calloway; 3 point marksman- (highest 3pt fg %) Tony Yadao; Best rebounder (most total rebs) Alec Calloway; Best Passer (most assists) Lance Ibesate; Hatchet award (most fouls) Evan Gross; Hard hat Award (most charges taken) Phillip Fenumiai.

The Varsity Special awards (as voted by players) were: Most Inspirational- Phillip Fenumiai; Most Improved- Alec Calloway; Most Hustle- Austin Shoemaker; Best Defense- Evan Gross; Most Valuable Player- Tony Yadao; Zach Gordon Award (player that most embodies what it means to be a crimson bear on the court, in the classroom, and in the community) - Evan Gross.

Other local high school team’s awards and photos will be posted when made available to the Juneau Empire Sports Department.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback