2012 Gold Rush Days winners

Once again the lost arts of logging and mining were demonstrated to those who braved the inclimate (70-plus degrees) weather at Savikko Park last weekend. Youngsters and old-timers alike gathered among an assortment of vendors selling edibles and crafts as well as the offerings of operating your own front end loader or maneuvering a horse. Following are the final results of the 2012 Gold Rush Days 22nd annual gathering.


Event / 1st Place Time & Score / 2nd Place Time & Score / 3rd Place Time & Score / (last year’s champ)::::

Men’s Jackleg Drilling: Jeremy Spilman 2:20, Edward Lantz, 2:26 Mike Martin 2:38, (Michael Martin 2:11.69).

Men’s Spike Driving: Chris Neville 0:47, Jeff Trego 1:04, Matt Despain 1:10, (Ryan Friend 53.6).

Women’s Spike Driving: Alea Oien 0:31, Courtney McNaughton 1:07, Anna Hay 1:13, (Alea Oien 30.66).

Men’s Hand Mucking: Julio Gregoire 0:49, Mike Martin 0:52, Chris Neville 0:53, (Michael Martin 1:02.59).

Women’s Hand Mucking: Alea Oien 0:37, Veronica Friend 0:55, Jennifer Nelson 0:56, (Alea Oien 42.41).

Men’s 12B Overshot Mucking: Chris Neville 0:27, Ryan Friend 0:32, Kirk Ziegenfuss 0:37, (Michael Martin 26.25).

Team Drilling: Mike Martin/Kirk Ziegenfuss 2:19, Chris Neville/Alea Oien 2:34, Edward Lantz/Jeremy Spilman 2:37, (NA).

Women’s Axe Throwing: Anna Hay 12, Keri Mell 10, Veronica Friend 7, (Alea Oien).

Men’s Axe Throwing: Leonard King 13 (4), Jeff Tischer 13 (0), Ryan Friend 12, (John Tweedy).

Women’s Team Hand Bucking: Alea Oien/Jan Trigg 27:18, Cindy Carte/Veronica Friend 44:93, Courtney McNaughton/Ursula Whitmore 48:31, (Alea Oien/Keri Mell 36.7).

Men’s Team Hand Bucking: Leonard King/Steven Hay 26:00, Jeff Trego/Eddie Petrie 26:59, Jesse Hay/Ryan Friend 26:94, (Matt Despain/Chris Mills 20.2).

Women’s Stock Power Saw Bucking: Courtney McNaughton 15:54, Veronica Friend 20:31, Alea Oien 20:32, (Veronica Friend 17.6).

Men’s Stock Power Saw Bucking: W.R. Tonsgard, Jay Linhart, Tauno Hill, (Shorty Tonsgard 27.5).

Women’s Speed Climbing: Alea Oien 26:53, Cindy Carte 1:20:34, Veronica Friend 2:59:22, (Cindy Carte 53.25).

Men’s Vertical Chopping: W.R. Tonsgard 48:88, Al Hill Jr. 1:02:72, Matt Despain 1:19:78, (Shorty Tonsgard 18.2).

Men’s Speed Climbing: Bob Leuband 27:46, Al Hill Jr. 46:19, Leonard King 1:56:16, (Bob Leuband 37.65).

Cable Splicing: Jeff Tischer/Brian Maller 5:51, W.R. Tonsgard/Annabelle Tonsgard 6:08, (Shorty & Will Tonsgard).

Jack and Jill Team Hand Bucking: Alea Oien/Bob Leuband 32:25, Peter Naoroz/Jan Trigg 33.58, Jeff Trego/Keri Mell 37.84, (Bob Leuband/Alea Oien 18.5).

Women’s Choker Setter Race: Alea Oien 23:25, Courtney McNaughton 26:87, Veronica Friend 27:66, (Veronica Friend 20).

Choker Setter & Hook Tender Relay: Bob Leuband/Julio Gregoire 51:16, Brian Maller/Colton Baker 51:19, Al Hill Jr./Tauno Hill 58:97, (Al & Tauno Hill 50).

Women’s Obstacle Pole Buck: Alea Oien 0:40, Cindy Carte 0:47, Veronica Friend 1:10, (Alea Oien 33.55).

Men’s Obstacle Pole Buck: Tauno Hill 13.85, Al Hill Jr. 17.91, Bob Leuband 18.06, (Tauno Hill 15).

Men’s Horizontal Chopping: W.R. Tonsgard 38.09, Matt Despain 45.47, Tauno Hill 46.62, (Shorty Tonsgard 15.2).

Women’s Log Rolling: Alea Oien, Veronica Friend, Courtney McNaughton, (Genevieve Harmon).

Men’s Log Rolling: Colton Baker, Bob Leuband, Nick Rowe, (Brenden Doyle).

Children’s Hand Mucking: Derick Nebert 17:50, Ericka Nebert 18:59, Fenton Alan-Simon Jim 22:50, (Derick Nebert 17.5).

Children’s Choker: Catlynn Rich 14:53, Brandon Jokerst 15:31, Felicia Gibb 24:53, (T. Hill 14.88).

Best Female Miner: Alea Oien, (‘11 NA).

Best Male Miner: Chris Neville, (‘11 Michael Martin).

Babe of the Woods: Alea Oien, (‘11 Alea Oien).

Bull of the Woods: Bob Leuband, (‘11 Tauno Hill).

All-Around Resource: Alea Oien, (‘11 Alea Oien).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 09/20/2017 - 18:22

Applications being accepted for Lindh scholarship

The Hilary Lindh Scholarship is now accepting student applicants for the upcoming ski season.

Read more

JDHS Back-to-School Doubles Tournament winners

JDHS Back-to-School Doubles Tournament winners

Read more