Juneau Sports Shorts

Last Time Trial!


The Juneau Freewheelers last time trial at False Outer Point provided excellent conditions and a good turnout to ride. Scott Jones led the field with a top time of 23:09, followed by Robert Sowers 23:28, Forrest Bowers 25:46, Jim U 26:32, Dan Robinson 26:47, Ryan Bischoff 26:49, Mark Niedhold 27:05, Jamie Bursell 28:16 (1st place woman), Laird Oliff 28:18, Riley Moser 29:10, Brandee Gerkee 29:23, Alysia Jones 29:54, Michael Malin 30:53, Cathy Tide 31:16, and
KC Kent 33:54. Next up for Juneau riders, and those attending from out of town will be the August 10-12th Tour Of Juneau, a four-stage race including a Prologue, Hill Climb, Time Trial and Road Race. Look for more information in the coming days or contact John McConnochie at 723-1876 or jpm@gci.net.

HoopTime shines!

AAU HoopTime Alaska took 5th place out of 18 teams in the AAU West Coast Nationals championship, held in Las Vegas July 19-22nd. Juneau HoopTime won their first game 54-46 over Arizona’s Ceres Shock White. Kyle White replaced center Jacob Calloway, hurt in warm-ups. Adam Empson led with 24 points, 9 rebounds and 2 steals; Matt Seymour added 12 points, 10 rebounds and 6 steals. Luke Nye and White controlled the boards. Nye grabbed 10 rebounds and added 8 points.

HoopTime lost 76-39 to Simi Valley, California’s “Hard Work” team. According to coach Saviers the game was lost early as Matt Seymour picked up 4 fouls fast. Seymour led with 10 points, Empson added 9 points, Calloway 6 points, Trent Uddipa, John Yadao, and Mark Uddipa 5 points each.

HoopTime rebounded with a huge win against a very tough team from Hawaii. Saviers stated, “The athletes performed just as they were coached by Coach Houston--the last 4 months are all kudos to him! By their application of what Coach Houston taught them, the kids showed their maturity! I was proud of that.” Seymour scored 14 points and had 7 steals, Empson 17 points, Calloway 11, Nye 7, Mike, Mark and Trent Uddipa 2 points apiece and Kevin Guimmayen 1.

HoopTime lost their final game in overtime to San Diego’s Supreme Court Team 65-61. “The game could have gone either way; I wish I could re-coach it,” said Saviers. Seymour knocked down 24 points, Empson 12, Calloway 10, T. Uddipa 7, Nye and White 4 apiece. HoopTime now goes onto compete in the Las Vegas Grand Finale where 12 top teams square off in an end of the year tournament.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Mon, 10/16/2017 - 09:10

Holt helps Thunder Mountain to first place at Sitka Invitational

The Thunder Mountain High School boys swim team finished in first place at Friday’s Sitka Invitational at Blatchley Pool in Sitka.

Read more