Crimson Bears place 18 on Railbelt All-Conference Teams

JDHS senior center Kristian Petaja was one of five Crimson Bears selected to the Railbelt All-Conference first team. 18 JDHS players were selected to the 1st, 2nd and honorable mention teams and senior Jackson Lehnhart given the Railbelt's Kicking Specialist Award.

Juneau-Douglas’ Kristian Petaja (center), Travis Duvernay (Offensive Tackle), Brian Brassfield (Wide Receiver), Derik Vance (Inside Line Backer), and Aquino Brinson(Defensive Back) were selected to the 2012 Railbelt All-Conference First Team on Thursday. Second Team selections from the Crimson Bears’ were:

Demetrius Campos (Running Back), Trevor Pfaff (Wide Receiver), Billy Palmer (Running Back), Brenyn Marshall (Defensive Back), Samson Nauer (Defensive Back), and Dartanan Campos (Outside Line Backer). Honorable Mention selections were Stefan Jones (Defensive Lineman), Trey Williams (Running Back), Kris Hill (Wide Receiver), JD Hudson (Offensive Guard), Dorian Isaak (Quarterback), and Hunter Hickok (Offensive Tackle). In addition, Crimson Bears senior Jackson Lehnhart won the Kicking Specialist award.

Other special awards included: Offensive Player - Matthew Rogers, North Pole; Defensive Player - Charles Sudduth, West Valley; Lineman - Cole Frohling, Palmer; Utility Player - Luke Heun, Palmer; Assistant Coach - Keith Armstrong, Palmer; Head Coach - Rod Christianson, Palmer; Punting Specialist - Riley Hirz, West Valley; Kick Returner - Hunter Desmond, Lathrop; and Long Snapper - Austin Ring, Wasilla.

See Also

Other First Team All Tourney selections are: Palmer - James Nisbett RB, Cole Frohling OT, Luke Heun DB, Ben Aumavae LB, Chris Cooney LB, Cameron Christiansen QB, Dylan Myers DB, Hayden Niekamp TE. North Pole - Matthew Rogers QB, Lance Wright WR, Zach Swartz OL(T), Aaron Betts OL(G), Keenan Alexander OL(T), Lane Bonham SS, Ray Johnson SS. West Valley - Lorenzo Graham RB, James Clawson DT, Jamal Cummings FB, Charles Sudduth CB, Mason Jeffries CB, Jackson Curry DE. Colony - Robert Lorentz QB, Antonio Bush WR, Daniel Bilafer WR, Austin Rench OLB. Lathrop - Hunter Desmond OLB, Kaelan Lee RB, Cole Foster OL. Wasilla - Cash McGregor TE, Mitchell Rilatos RB.


Sun, 05/28/2017 - 06:41

JDHS boys suffer first-round knockout at state

A run at the soccer state championship wasn’t in the cards for the Juneau-Douglas High School boys this year.

Read more
Sun, 05/28/2017 - 06:40

JDHS girls fall to South in state semifinals

The Juneau-Douglas High School girls soccer team burned West Valley in the first round of the Alaska School Activities Association State Championships, but couldn’t keep... Read more

Sun, 05/28/2017 - 06:39

Though eliminated, boys soccer goes out on top

They didn’t win the state tournament this year, but they did go out on top.

Read more
Sun, 05/28/2017 - 06:38

JDHS girls tie 3-3 with West Anchorage

Last year, the Juneau-Douglas High School girls soccer team was bounced from the state tournament by a first-round loss to a physical West Anchorage squad.... Read more

Around the Web


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback