Crimson Bears' Brinson chosen first team all-state

JDHS gridiron giants get state team honors

The 2012 Alaska Football Coaches Association met on Sunday in Anchorage to select the Medium and Large School All-State Football teams. Thunder Mountain’s selections will run in tomorrow’s paper. Only players selected to their conference’s first teams were eligible for consideration.


Crimson Bears’ senior Aquino Brinson was selected to the large school first team as a defensive back.

“This is probably the most talent I have seen in the state,” Juneau-Douglas coach Rich Sjoroos said. “For a kid like Aquino to make first team is pretty remarkable.”

JDHS senior Jackson Lehnhart lost a close 8-7 vote for the large school Kicking Specialist to South Anchorage’s Eyob Imlach. Lehnhart and Imlach, both all-state soccer players and preseason favorites for the Gatorade Player Of The Year, will see a lot of each other on the pitch in the spring.

“A close vote,” Sjoroos said. “Both are really dominant kickers, you couldn’t go wrong with either guy. A pretty big honor for a first year football player to make all conference and be that close to top state honors.”

The Crimson Bears’ Lehnhart, and senior classmates Brian Brassfield (wide receiver), Kristian Petaja (center), Travis Duvernay (offensive tackle), and junior Derik Vance (inside linebacker) were chosen for the second team.

“With the talent in the state, these kids will look back proudly in the fact that they were chosen to the second team,” Sjoroos said.


Offensive Player Of The Year - Conor Feckley, Senior, West, who now holds the Alaska career passing yardage mark.

Defensive Player Of The Year - Dalton Sauder, Senior, South.

Lineman of the Year - Cole Frohling, Palmer.

Utility Player Of The Year - Jarred Laws, Senior, East.

Assistant Coach of the Year - Keith Armstrong, Palmer.

Coach of the Year - Rod Christiansen, Palmer.

Specialist Positions:

Kicking Specialist - Eyob Imlach, Junior, South.

Punting Specialist - Dante Washington, Junior, Bartlett.

Kick Returner - Hunter Desmond, Lathrop.

Deep Snapper - Austin Ring, Wasilla.

First Team Offense: Center - Michael Muller-Stubblefield, Senior, Service.

Guard - Cole Foster, Lathrop; Austin Betts, North Pole.

Tackle - Ken Pegues, Junior, Chugiak; Zach Swartz, Senior, North Pole; Cole Frohling, Palmer; Kieran Kuiper, Senior, West.

Tight End - Matt Oldenkamp, Junior, Chugiak; Hayden Niekamp, Palmer; Louis Page, Senior, South.

Wide Receiver - Jarred Laws, Senior, East; Lance Wright, Junior, North Pole; Nik Butler, Senior, Service; Eric Vandervort, Senior, West.

Quarterback - Matthew Rogers, Senior, North Pole; Viliamu Aukusitino, Senior, Service; Conor Feckley, Senior, West.

Running Back - James Nisbett, Junior, Palmer; Dante Williams, Senior, South; Larenzo Graham, Senior, West Valley.

Fullback - Jamal Cummings, Senior, West Valley.

First Team Defensive: Defensive Back - Aquino Brinson, Senior, Juneau; Jarred Laws, Senior, East; JeaVonte Dunn, Senior, Eagle River; Luke Huen, Senior, Palmer; Matthew Ilalio, Senior, Service; Khalil Autry, Senior, South; Charles Sudduth, Soph, West Valley.

Outside Linebacker- Justin Brenzel, Senior, Chugiak; Armani Tufaga, Senior, Dimond.

Linebacker - Kendall Scott, Senior, Dimond; Chris Cooney, Palmer; Hiapo McCandless, Junior, Service; Dalton Sauder, Senior, South; Tommy Hopp, South; Nathan Sailele, Senior, West. Defensive Line - Ma’o Tosi, Senior, East; Erich Pili, Senior, Service; Jackson Curry, Junior, West Valley.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback