3 Falcons selected to all-state football 1st team

Four selected to 2nd team

The Falcons Joe Ia was selected to the Medium School First Team at the wide receiver position, teammate Josh Tupou was chosen as long snapper and outside linebacker, and Vili Tupou made the first team as an interior lineman, capping off a successful season and career for the three Falcons’ seniors.


“They deserve it,” Thunder Mountain coach Bill Byouer said. “Joe had clutch catches and could run the ball out of the wild cat. Josh and Vili are just superior athletes.”

The Falcons second team selections included senior John Jolly (running back), senior Chris Mack (wide receiver, defensive back), sophomore Austin Thomas (center), and junior Ben Jahn (outside linebacker).

“These kids have just been phenomenal,” Byouer said of the team’s selections. “Their skills have grown immensely. One of the key factors was seeing how they played against Argonaut (California). That was a big time team and we played big time.”

Other southeast medium school second teamers were Sitka’s Mitchell Boord (QB, return specialist, defensive back), Elliot Anderson (tackle, wide receiver), Alex Cagle (interior lineman), and Chatham Conner (center); and Ketchikan’s Connor Hicks (running back).


Lineman of the Year—Duncan Brewer, Kenai

Offensive Player of the Year—Noah Fowler, Soldotna

Defensive Player of the Year—Zane Miller, Soldotna

Coach of the Year—Cam Wyatt, Homer

Assistant Coach of the Year—Phil Leck, Soldotna

First Team Offense: Quarterback—Noah Fowler, Soldotna

Running Back—Waylon Soptick, Houston; Colton Young, Soldotna

Fullback—Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai

Wide Receiver—Tyler Howell, Skyview; Ia, TMHS

Tight End—Zane Miller, Soldotna

Tackle—Jonathon Alexander, Soldotna; Daniel Rosin, Soldotna

Guard—Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Jarrett Urban, Soldotna

Center—Gavin Larson, Soldotna

Long Snapper—J. Tupou, TMHS

Kicker—Cameron Grothe, Soldotna

Return Specialist—Colton Young, Soldotna

First Team Defense: Outside Linebacker—Zack Fraley, Homer; Troy Streiff, Soldotna; J. Tupou, TMHS

Inside Linebacker—Grayden Mendenhall, Kenai; Zane Miller, Soldotna

Defensive Backs—DJ Collier, Skyview; Noah Fowler, Soldotna; Colton Young, Soldotna

Interior Lineman—Jonathan Alexander, Soldotna; Duncan Brewer, Kenai; Allen Reeder, Houston; V. Tupou, TMHS

Punter—Tyler Forto, Houston

Utility Player—Reid Schmelzenbach


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sun, 06/24/2018 - 07:30

East Glacier Trail Tangle results

The Juneau Trail and Road Runners hosted the East Glacier Trail Tangle on Thursday night. Well over 60 runners participated in the 6.7 and 1-mile... Read more