Charlotte stifles Northeastern for 2012 Shootout title

ANCHORAGE (Nov. 24) – Senior center Chris Braswell scored 14 points to lead a balanced Charlotte effort Saturday night as the 49ers claimed the Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout title with a 67-59 win over Northeastern at Sullivan Arena.


The 49ers (6-0) won the 35-year-old tournament in their first appearance, getting 10 points and eight rebounds from freshman forward Darion Clark, who was named Carrs/Safeway Player of the Game.

The Huskies (4-2) were led by a game-high 19 points from guard Joel Smith, while forward David Walker added 14 points and four assists. It was the second Shootout runner-up finish for the Boston school, which was back in Anchorage for the first time since 1986.

Charlotte took an early 12-1 lead behind its trademark defense, holding the Huskies without a field goal for over seven minutes to start the game. Northeastern made several runs throughout the game, but the 49ers had an answer each time.

Charlotte point guard Pierria Henry finished with modest scoring numbers of six points, however the sophomore added five rebounds, three assists and three steals, and was named the Shootout’s Most Outstanding Player.

Braswell also made the All-Tournament Team along with teammate Terrence Williams, who had 13 points, four assists and three blocks in the championship contest.

For Northeastern, Smith and forward Quincy Ford were both named all-tourney.

2012 Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout

All-Tournament Team

Chris Braswell, Charlotte

Ian Clark, Belmont

Quincy Ford, Northeastern

Kyle Fossman, Alaska Anchorage

Anthony Ireland, Loyola Marymount

Terrence Williams, Charlotte

Warren Niles, Oral Roberts

Trevor Noack, Belmont

Joel Smith, Northeastern

Teancum Stafford, Alaska Anchorage

Most Outstanding Player: Pierria Henry, Charlotte

University of Alaska Anchorage athletic director Dr. Steve Cobb has announced the field for the 2013 Carrs/Safeway Great Alaska Shootout men’s and women’s basketball tournaments.

The 36th annual event will feature a women’s field of Georgetown, UC Riverside, host Alaska Anchorage and one team to be announced. On the men’s side, UAA will be joined by Denver, Harvard, Indiana State, Iowa, Pepperdine, Texas Christian and Tulsa.

The women’s tournament will take place Nov. 26-27, while the men will take the court Nov. 27-30 at Anchorage’s Sullivan Arena.



UC Riverside will be making its second appearance (2006).

Georgetown, making its first appearance, will be the third Big East Conference team to visit in the last six years.

Alaska Anchorage has won six Shootout titles (1990, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009) and has played in six of the last seven championship games.


Iowa will be the only previous Shootout champion, having beaten Northeastern 103-80 in the 1986 title game … the Hawkeyes also played in the 1995 title game, losing to Duke … Iowa will be the first Big 10 Conference team to visit since Michigan in 2007.

Harvard will be just the second Ivy League school to play in the men’s Shootout, following Dartmouth in 2011.

Pepperdine played in the first Shootout, finishing third in 1978 … the Waves will make it three straight Shootouts with a representative from the West Coast Conference (San Francisco, 2011; Loyola Marymount 2012).

Texas Christian will make its second Shootout appearance (1995).

Tulsa features former Shootout star as head coach Danny Manning will be entering his second year on the Golden Hurricane bench; Manning was a freshman all-tourney selection on Kansas’ 1984 Shootout runner-up squad.

Denver and Indiana State will be making their Shootout debuts.

Alaska Anchorage – the only Div. II team in the field – has won at least one game in five straight Shootouts and 29 of 35 overall.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback