22nd Annual Capital City Classic Awards

Team Champion

Boys - East Anchorage

Girls - Anchorage Christian

Team Sportsmanship

East Anchorage boys & girls

Most Valuable Player

Girls - Dallas Dickerson, Anchorage Christian.

Boys - Jarred Laws, East Anchorage.

All Tournament Team

Girls - Taria Page, East; Marissa Brakes, Juneau-Douglas; Megan Reid, Sitka; Sarah Geagel, Anchorage Christian; Gabi Fenumiai, Juneau-Douglas; Sid Riggs, Sitka; Kymberlee Kelly, Juneau-Douglas.

Boys - Jason Gordon, West Valley; Xavier Johnson, East Anchorage; Gary Speck, Juneau-Douglas; Brian Way, Sitka; Desmond Johnson, East Anchorage; Daniel Hornbuckle, West Valley; Adam Empson, Juneau-Douglas; A.J. Inman, Sitka.

Free Throw Champion

Boys - Jarred Laws, East Anchorage.

Girls - Kalene Koeling, Sitka.

3-Point Contest

Jarred Laws, East Anchorage.

Esra Siddeek, Juneau-Douglas.

Slam Dunk Contest

Bruce Jones, Juneau-Douglas.


Sun, 01/22/2017 - 12:07

JDHS girls 2-1 at Elks Showdown, boys 1-2; Carson MVP

Crimson Bears girls 2-1, boys 1-2 at Elks Showdown Read more

Sun, 01/22/2017 - 12:10

Wild overtime finish falls in Falcons favor

Depending on a lot of composure and a little luck at the end of an overtime game, the Thunder Mountain High School boys basketball team squeaked out a second win against visiting Colony on Saturday. Read more


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback