Juneau Ski Club hosts NAPA Auto Parts state qualifier today

Alyeska, Fairbanks and Juneau Ski Clubs in competition through Sunday
JSC's Hailley Jones in a recent down hill event at Eaglecrest.

The Juneau Ski Club hosts one of two USSA Alaska Division U-16 State Qualifier ski race series’ beginning today at Eaglecrest. Racers from Anchorage and Fairbanks will be competing with Juneau skiers.


“It is a three day event with 19 out of town racers joining ours,” JSC coach Dan Ord said. “This is one of two state races we will host this year. This is part of the state championship race series.”

The competition is sanctioned for all USSA age classes but the importance of the races are for the U-16 age group.

All 14 & 15 year olds (U-16’s) have two chances to qualify for the Western Region Junior Olympic competition, one is the NAPA Auto Parts race series (GS, SL) today through Sunday, and the other is the Alyeska Cup (Super-G, GS, SL) in Girdwood.

The qualification races are both Super G races today plus the first Slalom and the first Giant Slalom races of the Alyeska Cup series in Girdwood, and the Slalom and Giant Slalom races of the Juneau qualification series. Each SL & GS race has two runs; Super G is a one Run Race.

U16 qualification will consist of 2 runs of SG, 4 runs of GS and 4 runs of SL. Athletes have 10 runs to accumulate World Cup points. Top three finishes from the 10 will be added together to decide Alaska state champ and the rank of all athlete’s.

Ranking will be made on the basis of each “run’s” finish order, with no more than two “runs” counted in each discipline. Finish points will be awarded based on “new” World Cup Points

Following are the competitors for today’s Giant Slalom.

The Women’s competitors attending from the Alyeska Ski Club are U16’s Ashlee Weller, Frances Ruth Carlisle, Margo Lane, Hannah Lukes, Madilyn Short, Amanda Lundgren, Morgan Leach, and U14 Clare Howard.

From the Fairbanks Ski Club is U14 Roan Willson.

From the Juneau Ski Club are U18’s Alexandra Hiley and Ali Eason, U16’s Adrienne Audet and Dunya Hermann, U14’s Quincy Bates, Sabrina Jones, Jessica Gregg, Laurinne Balstad, Katelyn Reddekopp, Dorothy Chapman, and U12 Sally Thompson.

The Men’s competitors from the Alyeska Ski Club are U16’s Garrett Mashburn, Riley Howard, William Ingrim, Taylor Mapes, Tyler Dunn, Jim Henderson, Zachary Burris, and Ian Teders.

From the Fairbanks Ski Club are U14’s Jacob Evanger, and Dale Renkert.

From the Juneau Ski Club are SR. Daniel Harrah, U18 Christopher Cummins, U16’s Shane Kelly, Joseph Greenough, and Cody Weldon, U14’s Ronan Davies, James Whitney, London Madrid, and Jake Marnon, and U12 Tyler Weldon.

Today’s G.S. first run is scheduled for 10:45 a.m., the second run is set for 1:45 p.m.

Saturday’s first S.L. run is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. with the second run at 1:30 p.m.

Sunday’s K.K first run is scheduled for 10:45 a.m. with the second run at 1:45 p.m.

An awards banquet and ceremony takes place Sunday at 4:30 p.m. in the Eaglecrest Lodge. Awards will be given to 1st, 2nd, & 3rd for each event and top five for overall (A potluck will be held Saturday evening upstairs in the day lodge).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Fri, 01/19/2018 - 05:57

North Pole series on tap for JDHS