Juneau wrestlers fall at state tourney

South High School captured the Alaska 4A Team Wrestling Championship title with a slim 226 - 222.5 point total over Wasilla on Saturday at Bartlett High School.


No capital city wrestlers advanced into the semifinal rounds of the 2013 ASAA 4A State Wrestling Championships at Anchorage’s Bartlett High School over the weekend. The highest finishing southeast wrestler was Ketchikan’s 285-pound Cody Ring who took third place.

Thunder Mountain High School finished 18th with 7 team points and Juneau-Douglas was 20th with 0 points. Ketchikan placed ninth with 92.5 points.

Other teams: 3rd Service (175.5), 4th Palmer (162.5), 5th Colony (149.5), 6th North Pole (123), 7th Kodiak (122), 8th East (120), 10th Chugiak (92), 11th West Valley (90.5), 12th West Anchorage (90.5), 13th Kenai (45), 14th Lathrop (43), 15th Eagle River (35), 16th Bartlett (29.5), 17th Soldotna (21), 19th Dimond (2).

Following are Southeast wrestlers results and the division champion:

At 98-pounds Ketchikan’s Trevor Wutzke advanced with a bye, pinned Colony’s Wylie Spencer, was pinned in the semifinals by South’s undefeated Greg Shack, pinned North Pole’s Peyton Music, and lost 10-8 to Wasilla’s Bryan McKimson. Shack won the title with a 9-1 major decision over Wasilla’s Logan Albrecht.

At 106-pounds Thunder Mountain’s Edwin Meyer opened with a 5-2 loss to Bartlett’s Michael Braudis and was eliminated 10-7 by Wasilla’s Isaace lynch. Kayhi’s Marcus Martin defeated Service’s Tasha Mockta 8-1, lost 4-0 to South’s Noah Ottum, pinned Lathrop’s Jeff Simmons, and was pinned by Kenai’s Hope Steffensen.

East’s Kyle Willard won title 8-4 over West’s Jejomar Briones.

At 113-pounds Kayhi’s Kadin Hallstrom won by bye, won 9-4 over Service’s Slade Lindsoe, lost by pin in the semifinals to Kodiak’s Andrew Caballa, won 7-6 over Palmer’s Jesse Sanders, and lost by pin to South’s Matt Glover to finish fourth.

South’s Gavin Alvarado won the title 11-6 over Caballa.

At 120-pounds Juneau-Douglas’ David Dumesnil lost by pin to East’s Aric Kennedy and by pin to Wasilla’s Andrew Shannon. Kayhi’s Josh Danoa lost by pin to Palmer’s Mason Cochran and by pin to Bartlett’s Jaime Green.

Cochran win the title 8-7 over Service’s Joshua Fetko.

At 126-pounds Kayhi’s Keenan Spencer was pinned by Chugiak’s Tyler Wintersteen, won 9-5 (Colony’s Matthew VanderMartin), won by forfeit (Wasilla’s Shannon Carpenter) and was pinned (Palmer’s Aaron Molesky). Kayhi’s Ben Kasenas lost by pin (East’s Alex Kennedy and Service’s Nyeem Johnson).

West’s Daide Agnew won the title 15-9 over Kodiak’s Eddy Burris.

At 132-pounds TMHS’ Hunter Boyer was pinned by Eagle River’s Gavin Arnold and Wasilla’s Chris Campbell. Kayhi’s Issac Lontz won 7-1 (PAL Wyatt McGann), lost by fall to North Pole’s Gage Wright, won 7-2 (ER Campbell), lost 3-1 (WAS Ryker Steiner).

Service’s John Pounds won the title by pin over Wright.

At 138-pounds Hitsadi Hudson (KTN) was pinned (BAR Jordan Pace and EAS Anthony Sierra). Logan Collins (KTN) won 15-0 (EAS Trevor Cole), lost 8-3 (BAR Damian Sotelo), and lost 10-8 (WAS Pat Inglet).

Kenai’s Ellery Steffensen won title 4-2 over South’s Kraig Hammond.

At 145-pounds JDHS’ Riley Moser lost 13-1 to Colony’s Scotty Samson and 12-1 to Chugiak’s Austin Rochon. Joe Chadwell (KTN) lost 7-1 (CHU Colt Jury) and 6-5 (WEA Nolan Fitzgerald).

Wasilla’s Nate McKimson won title 5-3 over Lathrop’s Zimmerman.

At 152-pounds JDHS’ Malik Brown lost 12-8 to Service’s Mario Herrera and by pin to Eagle River’s Zavier Horton. Dalton Spear (KTN) won 3-0 (COL Riley Fredrickson), and was pinned (COL Robert Huffer and EAG Xavier Horton).

Wasilla’s Bryce Serna won title 4-2 over North Pole’s Moo Rogers.

At 160-pounds Craig DeBoer (KTN) won by pin (EAG Jimmy Stemper) lost 3-1 (EAS Jean Paul Sosa), and lost 3-1 (NOR David Best). Davon Wake (KTN) lost 1-0 (WAS Conner Minnick) and 10-2 (NOR Best).

Service’s Rilen Skieens won title 7-1 over Palmer’s Luke Heun.

At 170-pounds Nate Fousel (KTN) won by pin (KEN Kyle Hunter), lost 8-2 (WEA Leroy Elliot), won 9-5 (SOU Brent Case), and lost 11-3 (COL Simon Root). Robert Williams (KTN) lost 17-2 (PAL Mason Sweinehart) and by pin (COL Zachariah Doan).

East’s Josh Wiggins won title 5-4 over Elliot.

At 182-pounds JDHS’ Jerry Hudson lost by pin to Wasilla’s Mark Dobbs and by pin to West’s Abraham Faletagoai. Kohl Hallman (KTN) lost by pin (WES Hyland Story), won by pin (BAR Richard Helme), and lost by pin (EAS Keahi Queja).

Colony’s Sawyer Root won title by pin over Story.

At 195-pounds TMHS’ Lianno Vejar lost by forfeit (KOD Kerry Powers and SER Rhys Sands). Jason Frizzell (KTN) won by pin (NOR David Hayden and DIM Brody Jones), lost by pin (SOU Dalton Sauder), lost 8-4 (SER Nicholas Cruz), and lost by pin (PAL Joel Ryno).

Sauder won title 7-6 over Powers.

At 220-pounds JDHS’ Tulensa Timothy lost by pin to Colony’s Silas Root and Service’s Nicholas Stevens. Caleb Ford (KTN) lost by pin (BAR Wyatt Bruso and KOD Nolan Wandersee).

Wasilla’s Quace Wright won title 3-2 over Colony’s Ian MacKenzie.

At 285-pounds TMHS’ Rick Johnson pinned West’s Tevita Fehoko, lost by pin to Palmer’s Cole Frohling , pinned Bartlett’s Otto Ducasse and was pinned by South’s Jarmie Augafa. Cody Ring (KTN) won by pin (BAR Ducasse and NOR Dillon Walker), lost 5-2 in the semi finals (PAL Brian Thompson), and won by pin (SOU Augafa and SOL John Alexander) to place third.

Kodiak’s Salalau Sega won title 6-5 over Thompson.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Tue, 04/24/2018 - 13:07

Ketchikan Invitational Results