Historic 6th Annual Gold Medal Tournament teams

The Ketchikan Rockets defeated the Sitka ANB team for the championship of the Sixth Annual Gold Medal Tournament in 1952. Rosters are under the photos with this brief. Judges were Bill Blanton, Kinky Bayers Elton Engstrom, Stan Grummett, Roy Peratrovich and Frank Wilson. Juneau Mayor Waino Hendrickson said in his welcome, “In behalf of the citizens of Juneau it gives me great pleasure to welcome all of you out-of-towners to our city. With your continued co-operation and participation, the Gold Medal Basketball Tournament has proved an outstanding success year after year. No doubt you have heard of our effort this year to expand the mid-winter attraction of Juneau by staging a Winter Carnival on the preceding weekend before the basketball tournament. We hope that all of you plan to come earlier to join in the fun next year. This year our many fine civic groups arranged ski races, sled races, kids dog sled races, snowshoe races, ski jumping, a big parade with a band and floats in it as well as hundreds of marchers, and the “crowning” event was the coronation of a Princess at a big dance. Welcome to Juneau and have a good time while you are here.”

Tournament executive committee members were Walter A. Soboleff (chairman) Al Boutin (secretary, treasurer), Norman Sommers (asst. Treas.), Les Avrit, Russell Clark, Buck Faulkner, Jack Gucker, Art Hedges, Peter Wood, and Reynolds Young.

Prizes included a championship trophy for the winning team; trophy for 2nd place; trophy for 3rd; 10 awards for players on championship team; 10 awards for players on 2nd; 10 charms for players on 3rd; 10 awards of Merit for the 10 outstanding players on teams that are defeated in their first game of the tourney and players who have not been selected on any of the three all-tourney teams; 5 gold awards for first all-tourney; 5 silver awards for 2nd all-tourney; 5 bronze for 3rd all-tourney; Sportsmanship awards to the “Sportsmanship Forward”, “Sportsmanship Center” and “Sportsmanship Guard” of the tourney; High point award for the player scoring highest number of points in tourney; High point award for most points by a player in a single game; 3 Famous United States Federation Honor Medals: Honor Medal of Gold to outstanding player of the tourney and this player will be a candidate for the 1952 All-American teams. U.S. Federation Honor Medal of Silver to the player of second choice who will also be a candidate for the All-American teams if 16 or more teams participate in this tourney. The Bronze United States Federation honor Medal will be awarded the third-place outstanding player of the Gold Medal Tournament; there will also be trophies for outstanding Defensive player and outstanding offensive player of the tournament.

The 67th Annual Gold Medal Basketball Tournament will be Mar. 17-23 at the JDHS gym. The seedings for the tourney will be announced live on Thursday at 8:30 a.m. on KINY radio’s Capital Chat.

The 10 B teams are Angoon, Kake, Klukwan, Hoonah, Hydaburg, Haines, Wrangell, Yakutat, Metlakatla and Sitka. The six C teams are Angoon, Yakutat, Hydaburg, Klukwan, Kake and Hoonah. The six Masters teams are Kake, Klukwan, Hoonah, Yakutat, Klawock and Juneau Alliance.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback