Angoon tops Hydaburg 109-99 for Gold Medal B Title

Third B title in four years, sixth overall, and 12 total

Hydaburg was looking to defend their 2012 Gold Medal Championship, Angoon was looking to get their third B-Bracket title in four years, and a standing room only crowd was hoping to see the best basketball in the state.


Everybody got their wish during Saturday’s championship game except Hydaburg, as Angoon now has a 109-99 trophy win to take home to the Kootznahoo Inlet on the west side of Admiralty Island.

“Ah man this means a lot,” Jordan Jamestown said. “This is our third one. I am just happy to bring the title back where it belongs, man. It belongs in Angoon.”

Angoon’s Clayton Edwin opened the game with a short jumper in side and Hydaburg’s Vinny Edenshaw nailed a three.

These two opposing warriors would carry their teams throughout as Edenshaw hit a game-high 41 points for Hydaburg and Edwin nailed 38 points and the Most Valuable Player award.

“It reminds me of junior high,” Jamestown said of the action in the gym. “In junior high we won a couple championships for Angoon over here at DZ gym. The crowd was kind of like tonight’s crowd, I love this.”

Hydaburg would tie the game twice, 16-16, at the 14:24 mark on a Eric Hamilton triple, and at 18-all on a Edenshaw jumper.

Jordan Jamestown was being hounded on defense by Hydaburg’s Jeb Phillips and Darren Edenshaw was hawking Angoon’s Edwin.

No one saw John Crossman coming.

“Crossman is full of surprises,” Angoon coach Aaron Campbell said. “He can launch from half court or he can go inside and put it up like a point guard.”

Crossman hit a key triple to give slight momentum to Angoon.

Both teams kept a steady pace up and down the court.

Hydaburg would tie the game for the last time at 43-43 on a V. Edenshaw jumper with 1:46 remaining in the half. Jeb Phillips made it 45-43 as time expired.

Hydaburg’s Devin Edenshaw nailed a deep three to start the second half and give Hydaburg their largest, and last, lead at 48-43.

Angoon went on a 15-3 run to gain a solid hold on the second half.

“What was key for us was to remember to play that classic Angoon basketball that we are known for,” Angoon coach Aaron Campbell said. “In the beginning we started forgetting who we were. We were trying to match Hydaburg, but no one can stop classic Angoon basketball. Classic Angoon ball is rough to the hole and crashing the boards. Run, run, run and gun is classical Angoon basketball. This title means everything. It is a legacy right here and we will be back next year for another one, God willing.”

Hydaburg drew to within six at 61-55 but Angoon responded with another 12-4 run to create more breathing room.

Angoon would hit 16-16 at the free throw line in the second half, and 22-25 for the game, as Hydaburg tried to aggressively get the ball.

A Vinny Edenshaw triple and a Jeb Phillips steal and pass to Darren Edenshaw for another triple brought Hydaburg to within six at 105-99, but Angoon’s Guy Hunter and Jazz King scored to finish the game at 109-99.

Angoon was led by Edwin’s 38 points, Jordan Jamestown added 22, John Crossman and Ozelle Jamestown 17 apiece, Guy Hunter 10, Bailey Johnson three, and Jazz King two. Angoon hit 22-33 at the charity stripe, Hydaburg went 22-25.

Hydaburg was led by Vinny Edenshaw’s 41 points, Devin Edenshaw added 24, Darren Edenshaw 14, Jeb Phillips 10, Eric Hamilton seven, and Tyler Bell three.

The B Bracket All Tournament team were:

Willy Hayward (Metlakatla), Ozelle Jamestown (Angoon), Cody Angerman (Wrangell), Kyle Rush (Haines), Adam Dolan (Kake), Martin Sensmeier (Yakutat), Jordan Jamestown (Angoon), Clayton Edwin (Angoon), Vinny Edenshaw (Hydaburg), Darren Edenshaw (Hydaburg).

Sportsmanship Award: Tyler Healy (Haines).

Most Valuable Player: Clayton Edwin (Angoon).

Angoon has 12 titles overall (B- 1976, 1978, 2010, 2011, 2013/ C- 1984, 86, 87, 88, 89/ Womens- 2004/ Intermediate- 2006).

Hydaburg, located on the southwest coast of Prince Of Wales Island, has seven titles overall (B- 1987, 88, 95, 2005, 06, 12/ C- 1989).

Friday Scores:

Hydaburg 77, Haines 69

Hydaburg’s V. Edenshaw (24 points, 1 triple) took care of the offense and J. Phillips the defense (10 rebounds, three steals) in a 77-69 win over last season’s runner up Haines.

Phillips added 17 points (1 Trp) for Hydaburg, Bell (1 Trp) and Darren Edenshaw 11 (3 Trp) apiece, Devin Edenshaw eight, and Hamilton six (1 Trp). They hit 24-26 at the free throw line.

Tyler Healy led Haines with 17 points (1 Trp), Kyle Rush 14, Harry Reitze (1 Trp) and Ben Egolf 11 (1 Trp) apiece, James Hart 10, Kevin Thompson four (1 Trp)and Dave Berry two. They hit 7-10 at the free throw line.



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback