Huna charges to 88-66 win over Hydaburg for C Championship

Laden with scorers, team passes to 24th title

Hoonah traveled over from Chichagof Island and ran away with the 2013 Gold Medal C Bracket championship on Saturday night with an 88-66 win against Hydaburg.


From the very first basket of the game it was a special night for Huna.

Albert Hinchman canned a deep triple to open play and the shot certainly fell from the heavens.

“I had a rough week on the shooting,” Hinchman said. “Thank God that first one went in.”

Hinchman was dedicating the game to his uncle Jake White Sr. who passed just days ago.

“He was a big fan from Hoonah,” Hinchman said. “I saw him two days before he passed and we were walking out of the gym together. He looked at me and said, ‘Well Albert, it is up to you guys.’ So we are going to be really happy to bring this one home.”

Tierney Bible gave the Huna a 7-4 advantage with two bruising hoops inside, answering the scores by Hydaburg’s Joe Young.

Tournament Most Valuable Player award winner Travis Dybdahl sank a shot to drive the crowd to delirium.

“I am not used to this,” Dybdahl said of his MVP trophy. “I did not expect it, I did not think I played that well. Lucas (Johnson) could have got it; he should have been on the all tourney team for sure. I am just honored.”

Known as a scorer, Dybdahl demonstrated in the championship game, and in the tournament, that he can defend and dish off the ball as well.

When Hydaburg closed to within three points on a Tony Peal shot, Dybdahl orchestrated a fast break and dished off to all-tourney selection Lucas Johnston to open a 16-8 advantage.

Huna went on a 7-0 run to go up 25-10.

Baskets by Hydaburg’s S. Edenshaw and J. Young closed the boys from the southwest coast of Prince of Wales island to within 10, at 26-16.

The lead was cut to six with 6:56 remaining when Hoonah’s Johnson, Anthony Lindoff and Andy Gray pushed another run, punctuated by Dybdahl’s five assist of the first half on a bounce pass to Johnson for a fast break score and a 34-23 advantage.

Two more Dybdahl assists, to Johnson and A. Lindoff widened the gap to 43-30.

Tony Peele and J. Young hit two buckets to close Hydaburg within 43-42, but Hunan’s A. Lindoff and Dybdahl scored to close out the half with the lead at 50-34.

“I like to think of myself as an all-around player,” Dybdahl said. “Even if I am not scoring I can affect the game in other ways, fortunately my teammates made the layups when I passed it to them and made me look good.”

Lucas Johnson led Hoonah with 25 points, A. Lindoff added 19, Hinchman 14, Dybdahl 12, Bible 10, Gray four, Paul Johnsen and Kamal Lindoff two apiece.

Joe Young led Hydaburg with 20 points, TJ Young 18, Peele 10, S. Edenshaw eight, Harold Dilts six, D. Edenshaw and George LeCornell two apiece.

Hoonah hit 15-20 at the free throw line, Hydaburg 11-12.

“It was just relying on each other,” Hinchman said. “We trust each other. Most of us have been playing together for a while and we try to hit the open pass and play defense. Kudos to Hydaburg for making it back in the game. Our team has been one of the most fun to be around all week. We did not have one problem, no body griped at each other. We stuck together.”

C Bracket All Tournament Selections:

Stewart Dewitt (Klukwan), Kamal Lindoff (Hoonah), TJ Young (Hydaburg), Joe Young (Hydaburg), David Buss (Klukwan), Damien Long (Yakutat), Michael Jensen (Yakutat), Rudy Bean (Kake).

Most Valuable Player: Travis Dybdahl (Hoonah)

Sportsmanship Award: Andy Grey (Hoonah).

Hoonah now has 24 titles (AA- 1962, 65, 66, 72/ A- 72, 73, 74/ B- 81, 84, 86, 90, 93, 97, 2002, 08, 09/ C- 95, 99, 2000, 02, 04, 05, 2013/ M- 2011).

Hydaburg has seven titles overall (B- 1987, 88, 95, 2005, 06, 12/ C- 1989).

Friday Scores:

Hydaburg 90, Klukwan 76

Hydaburg dismantled Klukwan 90-76 in a Friday night elimination game to gain the championship final.

Dilts led Hydaburg with 30 points 96 Triples), J. Young 26 (1 Trp), Peele 13, TJ Young 11 (3 Trp), S. Edenshaw eight, and Joe Frank two.

Klukwan was led by Stuart DeWitt’s 24 points (5 triples), Luck Dunbar added 18, Jason Shull 16 (2 Trp), David Buss nine (2 Trp), Jackie Wyatt four, Jessie McGraw three (1 Trp), and Ryan Cook two.

Hydaburg went 20-30 at the free throw line, Klukwan 6-14.

Hinchman was dedicating the game to



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback