Juneau athletes compete at Buckwheat

Juneau’s ski community sent a number of athletes to compete in the annual Buckwheat Ski Classic 2013 at Log Cabin, B.C., just up the highway from Skagway.


According to a press release from the Chief Of Race Buckwheat Donahue, air temperatures were at 23 degrees at race time with a slight 10-15 mile-per-hour southerly wind, partly cloud skies and excellent snow conditions.

Over 390 skiers registered to compete, topping the record of 381 entrants from last season.

The Annual Miss Buckwheat award went to four-month-old Isabella Plant of Whitehorse and the Des Duncan Award, for outstanding volunteer service and sportsmanship, went to Skagway’s Katherine Nelson.

Awards were given to the first, second and third place finishers in each division.

In the 50 km men’s race, with Classic Mass start, Juneau’s Tristan Knutson-Lombardo finished fifth with a time of three hours, 26 minutes and 47 seconds. Whitehorse’s Ray Sabo won in 2:52.41. Juneau’s Odin Brudie finished 7th (3:55:19), Auke Bay’s Dan Fremgen 8th (3:55:55), Juneau’s Corwin McMaster 11th (3:57:47), and Juneau’s Bart Watson 12th (4:18:00).

In the 50 km women’s Classic Mass start Douglas’ Merry Ellefson finished second with a 3:45:51. Marit Rjabov of Fairbanks won in 3:30:29.

For the 25 km men (classic mass start), Whitehorse’s Dave Brook won in 1:30:03. Juneau’s Tim Blust was 14th (1:52:52), Greg Patz 18th (1:59:29), Michael Hekkers 21st (2:01:24), Haines Chip Lende 22nd (2:01:55) and Liam Cassidy 25th (2:05:32), Juneau’s Johnny Elliott 26th (2:06:18), Glenn Frick 35th (2:21:35), Skip Elliott (36th (2:23:53), Carlton Heine 37th (2:24:07), Ben Van Allen 43rd (2:26:31), Eric Olsen 48th 2:34:09), Peter Otsea 50th (2:43:43), Ken Leghorn 58th (3:10:42), Clay Frick 63rd (3:28:54), Ray Dwyer 64th (3:39:34), Jay Query 65th (4:05:01). Skagway’s John Briner, Haines’ William Holton and John White, Juneau’s Gerry Kress and Jesse Salsman, Douglas’ Greg Morgan, Auke Bay’s Eric Nelson did not finish or did not start.

For the 25 km women (classic mass start) Whitehorse’s Julie McVicar won in 1:41:11. Juneau’s Edy Rodewald was 38th (2:34:29), Frankie Pillifant 43rd (2:44:54), Alida Bus 52nd (3:01:36), Julie Coppens 54th (3:10:41), Stephanie Hoag 56th (3:15:47), Gail Blundell 57th (3:16:33), Julie DeLong 69th (4:00:47), Julie Scheurer 70th (4:03:30), Skagway’s Knikki Cinocco and Dana Mathis, Haines’ Sid Moffat and Jen Talley, and Juneau’s Nancy Jones and Cheyenne Cuellar did not finish or did not start.

For the 10 km men (classic mass start) Whitehorse’s Simon Cash won with a 0:34:14. Juneau’s Kenny Fox was 4th (0:41:54), Arne Ellefson-Carnes 6th (0:50:01), Duncan Smith 8th (0:51:42), Aaron Blust 10th (0:54:38), Haines’ Jedediah Blum-Eyitt 13th (0:59:55), Juneau’s Stephen Kocsis 14th (1:03:09), Skagway’s Lucas Boyer 15th (1:06:28), Juneau’s Tony Newman 16th (1:16:00), Douglas’ Jack White 18th (1:19:39), Juneau’s John Staub 21st (1:20:34), Skagway’s Kevin McGill 22nd (1:21:07), Juneau’s Max Blust 26th (1:24:32), Douglas’ Jeff White 30th (1:48:11), Juneau’s Brad Robbins 31st (1:49:16), Douglas’ Quinn White 32nd (1:51:29), Juneau’s Greg Smith 33rd (1:52:49), and Skagway’s Bruce Weber 42nd (3:46:15). Juneau’s Chas Dense and Haines’ Tom Morphet, Bart Henderson and Scott Doddridge did not finish.

For the 10 km women (classic mass start) Whitehorse’s Regan Fuerstner took first in 0:43:43. Auke Bay’s Megan Buzby was just out of the tape with second-place in 0:44:37. Juneau’s Naomi Welling was 7th (0:49:32), Jeannie Monk 21st (1:01:14), Lauren Heine 23rd (1:02:15), Amy Skilbred 27th (1:05:09), Grace Newman 28th (1:05:39), Lily Otsea 39th (1:18:26), Marjorie Hamburger 58th (1:30:53), Julie Rae 61st (1:44:38), Cristina Della Rosa 62nd (1:46:14), Douglas’ Elizabeth White 63rd (1:48:10), Juneau’s Jo Boehme, Tammy Kramer, Kathy Hamblett, all 64th (1:52:01), Jeanine Smith 67th (1:52:52), Kristina Carlson 69th (1:54:25), Haines’ Kerry McIver and Eileen McIver 71st (1:56:59), Juneau’s Sarah Ellgen 74th (1:57:36), Skagway’s Karen Dunford 80th (2:33:14) and Dottie DeMark 81st (2:36:01), Haines’ Jane Pascoe 83rd (2:41:42), Juneau’s Olivia Atherton 84th (2:48:18), Juneau’s Cristi Herren and Carol Ackerson, Skagway’s Amy Erfling, Alexandra Weber and Cara Cosgrove, and Haines’ Cynthia Adams did not finish.

5 KM 10 and under boys: no southeast entries. 1st Sasha Masson and Derek Deuling (Whitehorse 0:26:48).

5 KM 10 and under girls: 1st Sonjaa Schmidt (Whitehorse 0:29:43), 5th Aubrey Hekkers (Juneau 0:42:50), 17th Athena Smith (Skagway 1:55:46), 18th Wynter Radey-Morgan (Skagway 2:23:22).

5 KM 11-12 boys: 1st Liam Mather (Whitehorse 0:22:43), 4th Connor Norman (Juneau 0:33:16), 7th Shane Sims (Skagway 1:08:53), 8th Danny Brady (Skagway 2:17:56).

5 KM 11-12 girls: No southeast entries.1st Dahlia LaPointe (Whitehorse 0:30:24) and 2nd Amelia LaTour (Whitehorse 0:43:01).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback