Falcons' grapplers end of season awards

Dylan Taylor was chosen the Thunder Mountain High School wrestlng team’s MVP in season-ending ceremonies recently.


An email provided by the Falcons’ wrestling team listed the 2012-2013 letter winners as:

Dylan Taylor, Hunter Boyer, Rick Johnson, Edwin Meyer, Brylie Yadao, Blake Phillips, Dante taylor, Austin Drueckhammer, Tyler Cole, and Lianno Vejard. Manager was Lena Strickling.

Participation award winners:

Brandon Aguilar, Wesley Brinkerhoff, William Bearclark, Bradley Gile and Ron Hansen.

Some stats for individuals season/career and our current leaders are:

Biggest loser (Weight loss) - Lianno Vejard. Vejard lost 24 pounds or 12.5% percent of his weight.

Dylan Taylor - 38 Takedowns, 17 Reversals, five 2-point Near Falls (Tied), eleven 3-point Near Falls, 22 Wins.

Blake Phillips - 26 Escapes.

Edwin Meyer - five 2-point Near Falls (Tied).

Rick Johnson - 11 Pins.

According to coaches they expect all 15 wrestlers back next year and are projecting 5-10 incoming freshman and the possibility of having 3-5 kids who will be sophomores next year that didn’t wrestle this year.

“I’m not going to make any bold predictions but these guys are ready to start training for next season,” TMHS coach Gary Reid said. “It is their expectations to compete with Ketchikan and stranglehold they have on that Region V crown.”

The team also thanked TMHS Principal Dan Larsen, athletic director Sandi Wagner, and staff Ruth Wright and Deb Lewis for their continued support.



  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback