Sheufelt, Bursell win overall Tour of Juneau titles

Tour cyclist's race weather as well as opponents

The final stage of the 2013 Tour of Juneau cycling race is always a grueling churn from the ferry terminal to Eagle Beach and back to Auke Rec. Throw in deteriorating weather conditions and the obstacles become even more treacherous.


Weather cooperated for the first half of the expert race (52-miles), as racers enjoyed semi-dry roads and a tailwind out to Eagle Beach. A pack of 15
expert riders stayed together until the return hills by the Shrine. Robert
Sowers and Spencer Morgan initiated the first attacks when riders returned to Auke Rec and began 6 laps of a 3-mile circuit.

Sowers flatted, but John Bursell bridged up to Morgan and opened a substantial gap that would determine the eventual winner of the road race and the overall title.

Morgan outsprinted Bursell to win the race, but their 2
minute 41-second margin over Casey Colton and Robert Sowers gave Bursell the overall title. Colton finished second, Sowers third, and Morgan, a visiting rider from Skagway, moved up to fourth position.

Weather conditions deteriorated with each lap of the circuit, and several riders suffered flat tires. Despite the heavy rains and strong headwinds on the long downhill, only one rider abandoned the race--and that after flatting twice.

Race officials and competitors have issued a formal “Thank You” to the Sheufelt family for offering their home for a relaxing end of event social while where officials could decipher rain soaked results and determine awards.

2013 Tour of Juneau Final Results:

Female Expert - 1 Janice Sheufelt 3:23:03, 2 Jenn Walsh 3:35:50.

Female Sport - 1 Brandee Gerkee 2:35:06, 2 Jennifer Watson 2:58:12.

Male Expert - 1 John Bursell 3:11:33, 2 Casey Colton 3:14:11, 3 Robert Sowers 3:15:52, 4 Spencer Morgan 3:18:58, 5 John McConnochie 3:19:59, 6 Brian Smith 3:25:22, 7 Jim U 3:25:42, 8 Matt Callahan 3:34:01, 9 Don Eagle 3:35:30, 10 Dan Robinson 3:38:20, 11 Dave Ringle 3:43:26, 12 Mark Neidhold 3:52:02, 13 Mike Olsen 4:13:32.

Male Sport - 1 Andrzej Piotrowski 2:36:55, 2 Bill Curtis 2:37:06, 3 Travis Eckhott 2:43:47.

Sunday’s Stage 4 Tour of Juneau Road Race Times:

Expert Class - Spencer Morgan 2:20:19, John Bursell 2:20:20, Robert Sowers 2:23:01, Casey Colton 2:23:01, John McConnochie 2:23:45, Jim U 2:24:19, Janice Sheufelt 2:25:04, Brian Smith 2:26:44, Rob Welton 2:29:55, Matt Callahan 2:32:17, Jenn Walsh 2:32:20, Dan Robinson 2:36:25, Don Eagle 2:36:25, Dave Ringle 2:40:51, Mark Niedhold 2:49:57, Steve Schmitz 2:56:26, Mike Olsen 3:02:27.

Sport Class - Bill Curtis 1:30:06, Brandee Gerkee 1:30:08, Andrzej Piotrowski 1:30:09, Travis Eckhoff 1:36:43,.April Rezen 1:38:25, Jennifer Watson 1:47:48, Jordan Moser 1:48:48.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 06/20/2018 - 07:07

Little League names all-star teams

The Gastineau Channel Little League announced on Sunday and Monday the Major Baseball, Major Softball and Junior Baseball and Junior Softball all-star teams.

Read more