Team Imperial Wins 2013 men's softball state title

Third time charms found at Wasilla's Bumpus Park
Team Imperial, the 2013 Men's "C" State Softball Champions. Back, left-to-right: Nick Andrews, Scott Wilwert, Randy Quinto, Jesse Boudreau, Ed Garity, Al Tagaban and Tom Lee. Front l-r: Paul DiCarlo, Colin Pilcher, Rob Daniels and Nick Borchert.

On the heels of a 19-1 regular season and a fourth Rainball Championship in five years, the men of Team Imperial returned to Wasilla, Ak to compete in the 2013 Men’s “C” State Championship.


After a 4th place finish at the 2011 State Tournament and a 2nd place finish at Matsu Softball’s 2012 Mugshot Tournament, Imperial closed the deal with a 2013 Men’s “C” State Championship last weekend.

Following an early 6-5 loss Saturday in bracket play, Team Imperial commenced an 8 game march through the loser’s bracket, winning seven in a row on Sunday over teams from Valdez, Matsu, Anchorage, Kenai, Talkeetna, Fairbanks and two wins in the final over Wasilla’s TruBuilt 17-4 and 18-0 to claim the title.

Team Imperial includes Nick Andrews, Jesse Boudreau, Nick Borchert, Rob Daniels, Paul DiCarlo, Ed Garity, Tom Lee, Colin Pilcher, Randy Quinto, Al Tagaban and Scott Wilwert.

“You could pick from all the sports clichés out there,” Scott Wilwert said. “They would all fit but this victory was about heart, confidence and the selfless play of 11 guys. It was the epitome of a team effort.”

MVP honors went to Al Tagaban while the Silver Bat for offense went to Wilwert. Four players were also selected to the All-Tournament but the statistics were still being compiled at the time of this article.

Nineteen teams participated from as far north as Nome, Southeast to Juneau as well as the Kenai Peninsula, Fairbanks, Anchorage and the Matanuska valley.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback