Wrestlers pass first test of season at Ketchikan

Hudson brings home title for Juneau-Douglas

The first wrestling test of the season featured one championship and three near titles as grapplers from Juneau-Douglas and Thunder Mountain took on Southeast competitors at the Bill Weiss Invitational in Ketchikan last weekend.


Ketchikan took the team title with 157 points, while JDHS finished fourth (71) behind Craig (124.5) and Petersburg (123.5). TMHS placed in fifth with 68 points.

The Crimson Bears’ J.D. Hudson continued his wrestling dominance with an eight-second pin over Metlakatla’s David Johnson in his semifinal match and then a 7-2 decision over Ketchikan’s Robert Williams for the 182-pound championship.

“It was an experience of discovering what my competition will look like this year,” Hudson said. “I feel kind of out of shape. I am kind of disappointed in myself from that aspect, I thought I was in better shape. It turns out I was tired by the second period.”

The muscle continued for the Falcons as well as Rick Johnson pinned his way to the championship before falling to Metlakatla’s Tristan Alexander 6-1. Johnson pinned Craig’s Liam Price and Met’s Tristan Schwehm to earn the final.

Other top Juneau finishers included JDHS’ Cody Weldon who lost in the 182-pound championship to Ketchikan’s Nate Fousel while TMHS’ Q’on Bear Clark decisioned Ketchikan’s Jake Stout 6-2 for third place.

The Crimson Bears’ Malik Brown lost by fall in the 160-pound championship to Craig’s Tucker Thain and the Falcons’ Hunter Boyer took third place in the 154-pound bracket with a 4-3 win over Ketchikan’ Theo Benson.

Juneau grappling fans will get a chance to watch the Crimson Bears and Falcons in action this weekend in the Brandon Pilot Invitational tournament at TMHS gymnasium. The tourney will feature most of the wrestling teams from Southeast.

“Mt. Edgecumbe will be bringing 65 wrestlers,” Hudson said. “It is going to be a tough tournament. I am looking forward to wrestling the Braves’ 220-pounder; their coach said I would be his first match of the season. Hopefully I can beat him.”

Hudson went to the state championships as a sophomore, placing fifth, and as a junior.

“My goal is to help my teammates as much as I can to get better,” Hudson said. “Better them, better me so we can place this year.”

Following are the Juneau grapplers’ results from the Bill Weiss Invitational.

Team scores:

1) Ketchikan, 157 points; 2) Craig, 124.5; 3) Petersburg, 123.5; 4) Juneau-Douglas, 71; 5) Thunder Mountain, 68; 6) Thorne Bay, 64.5; 7) Sitka, 61; 8) Wrangell, 58; 9) Haines, 42.5; 10) Hoonah, 40; 11) Hydaburg, 38; 12) Metlakatla, 35.5; 13) Skagway, 17.5; 14) Yakutat, 6; 15) Klawock, 4.

Juneau Individuals:


TMHS’ Juan Fischer went 0-2, losing to Sitka’s Curt Barlett by fall and Wrangell’s Alisa Heller by fall.

Craig’s Seth Packer won the championship here with an 8-7 decision over Petersburg’s Buddy Stelmach.


TMHS’ JT Nell went 0-2, losing to Haines’ Ketch Jacobsen by fall, passing a bye, and losing to Haines Charlie Bower by technical fall 17-0.

Petersburg’s Daryl Toyomura won the title by fall over Ketchikan’s Trevor Wutzke.


Ketchikan’s Marcus Martin won the championship with a 5-2 decision over Sitka’s Caleb Suarez.


JDHS’ David Dumesnil advanced via a bye in the opening round, lost to Wrangell’s Alex Cano by fall, pinned TMHS’ Spencer Stratton in 13 seconds, and lost to HCS’ Manny Budke by fall.

TMHS’ Stratton advanced via a bye in his opening match, lost to Thorne Bay’s Tell Tripple by fall and lost to Dumesnil.

Thorne Bay’s Tripple won the championship 10-1 over Ketchikan’s Keenan Spencer.


TMHS’ Sam Nolan lost to Petersburg’s Michael File 9-2, pinned Ketchikan’s Dallas Dillard at 1:38, pinned Klawock’s Mason Hoppe, and lost 9-1 to Ketchikan’s Kadin Hallstrom.

Craig’s Hunter Fitch won the championship 9-1 over Skagway’s Trevor Cox.


TMHS’ Hunter Boyer defeated Metlakatla’s Corbin Gaube 5-3, pinned JDHS’ Braiden Helf at 5:01, lost to Petersburg’s John Brooks by fall at 1:26, pinned Hydaburg’s Fran Charles and stopped Ketchikan’s Theo Benson 4-3 for third place.

JDHS’ Helf lost to Boyer and by fall to HCS’ Samuel Sheakley at 1:42.

Craig’s Wyatt Patten won the championship 5-4 over Brooks


TMHS’ Devon Mason was pinned by Haines’ Zane Durr at 1:15, pinned Metlakatla’s James Henderson at 2:41, and lost by fall to Craig’s Mitchell Reeves.

Sitka’s Jaren Sumauang won the championship by fall over Petersburg’s Logan Turcott.


TMHS’ Justin Elmore lost to JDHS’ Alex Muir by fall at 2:58, pinned Ketchikan’s Brendon Divelbiss at 0:41, pinned Ketchikan’s Gerrik Sherrill at 0:53, and lost by fall to Haines’ Walker Blair.

JDHS’ Muir pinned Elmore, lost by fall to Thorne Bay’s Luther Jenson, and lost by fall to Wrangell’s Chester Armstrong.

Thorne Bay’s Jenson won the championship by fall over Petersburg’s Billy Ware.


JDHS’ Louie Rubenstein lost by fall to Craig’s Tucker Thain at 0:52 and was pinned by Hydaburg’s William Peele at 3:33.

JDHS’ Keenan Wright lost by fall to Petersburg’s Isaiah May at 1:20 and to Peele by fall at 0:28.

TMHS Austin Drueckhammer lost to Peele by fall at 3:00, and was pinned by Yakutat’s Ben Rockwood at 1:38.

JDHS’ Malik Brown pinned TMHS’ Tyler Cole at 1:00, decisioned Petersburg’s May 8-2 and lost by fall to champion Thain of Craig.

TMHS’ Cole lost to Brown and was pinned by Thorne Bay’s Johnny Botello at 2:18.


JDHS’ Taylor Sutak lost by fall to Wrangell’s Jeffrey Rooney at 1:19, beat Hydaburg’s Andy Kashaverof 3-0, pinned Yakutat’s Quinn Newlun at 2:40 and lost by technical fall 17-1 to Hoonah’s Torsten Skaflestad.

Ketchikan’s Davon Wake won the championship 4-2 over Wrangell’s Rooney.


JDHS’ Cody Weldon decisioned Sitka’s Josh Goeden 10-0, decisioned Ketchikan’s George Bolton 14-10, pinned TMHS’ Q’on Bear Clark at 5:45 and lost in the championship match by fall to Ketchikan’s Nate Fousel.

TMHS’ Bear Clark won 3-1 in overtime against Ketchikan’s Jake Stout, lost to Weldon, decisioned Sitka’s Josh Goeden 5-2 and decisioned KTN’s Stout for third place 6-2.

TMHS’ Lianno Vejar lost by pin to Ketchikan’s Daniel Eichner and by 1-0 decision to Sitka’s Goeden.

TMHS’ Jase Lippert was pinned by KTN’s Fousel at 0:17 and lost to KTN’s Stout.


JDHS’ J.D. Hudson pinned Metlakatla’s David Johnson in eight seconds and decisioned Ketchikan’s Robert Williams 7-2 for the championship.


TMHS’ Rick Johnson pinned Craig’s Liam Price at 1:00, pinned Metlakatla’s Tristan Schwehm at 1:09 and lost 6-1 in the championship to Metlakatla’s Tristan Alexander.

TMHS’ Joey Yaletchko was pinned by Metlakatla’s Alexander at 1:01, pinned Metlakatla’s August Leask at 1:37, defeated Ketchikan’s Dallin Ward and lost 2-0 to Metlakatla’s Schwehm.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback