Today In Sports History

Yale's Larry Kelley holds his Heisman Trophy with a Harvard pennant clearly visible in the picture. The first offensive lineman in history to win the award, Kelley was the nation's best offensive lineman as well as the best receiver on a classic 7-1 team. Kelley was the first to win the "Heisman Trophy" since it was called the "Downtown Athletic Club Trophy" the year before when Jay Berwanger won it.



1936 — End Larry Kelley of Yale is named the Heisman Trophy winner.

1951 — Arnold “Showboat” Boykin of Mississippi scores seven touchdowns in a 49-7 rout of Mississippi State.

1959 — Louisiana State halfback Billy Cannon is named the Heisman Trophy winner.

1973 — Jack Nicklaus wins the Disney World Open to become the first professional golfer to surpass $2 million in career earnings.

1980 — South Carolina running back George Rogers is named the Heisman Trophy winner.

1984 — Greg Page knocks out South Africa’s Gerrie Coetzee in the eighth round in Sun City, Bophuthatswana, to win the WBA heavyweight title.

1984 — Boston College quarterback Doug Flutie is named the 50th Heisman Trophy winner.

1990 — Ty Detmer of Brigham Young wins the Heisman Trophy. Detmer, who had set or tied 25 NCAA passing and total offense records, becomes the first BYU winner and third consecutive junior winner.

1991 — France wins the Davis Cup for the first time in 59 years when Guy Forget beats Pete Sampras in four sets to give France an insurmountable 3-1 lead over the United States.

1992 — Washington guard Michael Adams sets a professional record for career 3-point baskets with his 795th in the Bullets’ 119-106 victory over San Antonio. Louie Dampier had 794 3-point goals for Kentucky of the ABA and San Antonio of the NBA from 1967-79.

2000 — Indiana holds Vancouver scoreless in overtime for a 86-76 victory. It’s the eighth time in NBA history that a team fails to score in an overtime period.

2001 — North Texas (5-6) loses to Troy State 18-16 to become the third team to go to a bowl with a losing record. The Mean Green, bound for the inaugural New Orleans Bowl as the Sun Belt Conference champion, join SMU (4-6 in 1963) and William & Mary (5-6 in 1970) as the only teams to play in a bowl game with losing records.

2003 — Sylvester Croom becomes the Southeastern Conference’s first black head football coach, accepting an offer to take over troubled Mississippi State.

2004 — McKendree College coach Harry Statham tops Dean Smith with his 880th career victory, an 83-72 win over Maryville. Smith, with 879 wins, still holds the NCAA record for career victories because all of Statham’s wins are at the NAIA level.

2007 — Hawaii remains the nation’s only undefeated major college team with a 35-28 come-from-behind victory over Washington. Colt Brennan of Hawaii completes 42-of-50 passes for 442 yards and five TDs. Brennan, with 4,174 yards, breaks 4,000 yards passing in each of his three seasons at Hawaii.

2008 — The San Jose Sharks (21-3-1) match the best start in NHL history through 25 games with a 5-2 victory over the Toronto Maple Leafs. The Montreal Canadiens also had 43 points through 25 games in the 1943-44 season, going 20-2-3.

2009 — Brent Seabrook scores in the 11th round of a shootout and the Chicago Blackhawks beat the Columbus Blue Jackets 4-3 to give coach Joel Quenneville his 500th career victory. Quenneville becomes the 14th NHL coach to reach 500 wins.

2012 — Landon Donovan scores the tiebreaking goal on a penalty kick in the 65th minute, and David Beckham leaves the MLS as a two-time champion with the Los Angeles Galaxy’s 3-1 victory over the Houston Dynamo in the MLS Cup.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Wed, 06/20/2018 - 07:07

Little League names all-star teams

The Gastineau Channel Little League announced on Sunday and Monday the Major Baseball, Major Softball and Junior Baseball and Junior Softball all-star teams.

Read more