Small schools crown Southeast wrestling champions in Sitka

Juneau grapplers fall to West on the road
Petersburg's Buddy Stalmach, bottom, and Mt. Edgecumbe's Deirdre Creed, top, wrestle during the Brandon Pilot Invitational in November. Stalmach won the 98-pound Southeast Championship on Saturday and Creed finished third, both qualifying for the 1/2/3A State Championships in Anchorage this weekend.

The Region V 1/2/3A wrestling championships were held at Mt. Edgecumbe in Sitka last weekend, which will send the top four finishers from each weight bracket on to the state championships at Anchorage Christian Schools on Dec. 13-14. The Mt. Edgecumbe Braves took the team title over Petersburg, putting four individual champs on the podium and six found 3rd-place medals. Petersburg hoisted two individual crowns and one bronze medal.


At 98 pounds Petersburg’s Buddy Stalmach decisioned Craig’s Seth Packer 4-2 for the title and Mt. Edgecumbe’s Deirdre Creed won 6-0 over Sitka’s Curt Bartlett for third.

106-pounds: PSG’s Daryl Toyomara pinned Wrangell’s Sig Decker for 1st, Haines’ Charlie Bower decisioned MTE’s Alphonsus Pete 7-4 for 3rd.

113-pounds: MTE’s Moses Jackson decisioned Kake’s Sterling Moore 7-1 for title, MTE’s Miranda Johnson pinned MTE’s Kaitlin Konahok for 3rd.

120-pounds: MTE’s Trevor Creed pinned SIT’s Caleb Suarez for 1st, Thorne Bay’s Quinn Slayton pinned MTE’s Jeffery Slwooko for 3rd.

126-pounds: Hoonah’s Emmanuel Budke decisioned TB’s Tell Tripple 10-6 for 1st, MTE’s Jeremy Roberts pinned PSG’s Nathaniel Lenhard for 3rd.

132-pounds: Craig’s Hunter Fitch decisioned WRG’s Roger Miller 8-6 for 1st, Klawock’s Mason Hoppe pinned Skagway’s Trevor Cox for 3rd.

138-pounds: CRG’s Wyatt Patten decisioned PSG’s John Brooks 4-3 for 1st, MTE’s Joseph Friday decisioned Metlakatla’s Corbin Gaube 4-3 for 3rd.

145-pounds: SIT’s Jaren Sumuang major decisioned MTE’s Franklin Hoogendorn 16-7 for 1st, PSG’s Logan Turcott pinned PSG’s Bret Martinsen for 3rd.

152-pounds: TB’s Luther Jenson pinned PSG’s William Ware for 1st, WRG’s Chet Armstrong won by injury over MTE’s Jason Young for 3rd.

160-pounds: CRG’s Tucker Thain pinned PSG’s Isaiah May for 1st, HNS’ Kai Hays won by forfeit over Pelican’s Trevor Hafendorfer for 3rd.

170-pounds: WRG’s Jeffrey Rooney Jr. pinned HNH’s Torsten Skaflestad for 1st, MTE’s Anthony Peter pinned CRG’s Patrick Marshall for 3rd.

182-pounds: WRG’s Devon Miller pinned SIT’s Josh Goeden for 1st, Kake’s Chris Lerma decisioned MET’s Alonzo Leisholmn 9-7 for 3rd.

195-pounds: PSG’s Kaleb Simbahon pinned CRG’s Kaleb Booth for 1st, MTE’s Kole Lliaban decisioned MTE’s Armando DeAsis 5-4 for 3rd.

220-pounds: MTE’s Daniel Alexie pinned Hydaburg’s Robert King for 1st, MET’s David Johnson took 3rd on a bye.

285-pounds: MTE’s Paul Johanson decisioned MET’s Tristan Alexander for 1st, PSG’s Matthew Gudgel decisioned CRG’s Liam Price 6-4 for 3rd.

Southeast Region V small schools team scores:

1. Mt Edgecumbe High School 256.0; 2. Petersburg High School 200.0; 3. Craig High School 170.0; 4. Wrangell High School 126.5; 5. Sitka High School 94.5; 6. Metlakatla High School 76.0; 7. Thorne Bay High School 63.5; 8. Haines High School 55.0; 9. Hoonah High School 54.0; 9. Kake High School 54.0; 11. Skagway High School 33.0; 12. Hydaburg High School 29.0; 13. Klawock High School 18.0; 14. Pelican High School 16.0; 15. Yakutat High School 7.0.

JDHS falls at Wasilla

The Juneau-Douglas High School wrestling team lost on Friday to West High School 71-9 at Wasilla.

The Crimson Bears’ Malik Brown won the 152-pound weight class and Louie Rubenstein the 160.

Match results (provided by the Anchorage Daily News):

145 — Jack Danner, West, p. Alex Muir, Juneau, 1:05. 152 — Malik Brown, Juneau, d. B.J. Limbo, West, 14-8. 160 — Louie Rubenstein, Juneau, p. Michael Bristol, West, 1:42. 170 — Marquise Rayford, West, sv-1. Taylor Sutak, Juneau, 7-5. 182 — Abraham Falegoatai, West, d. Cody Weldon, Juneau, 6-3. 195 — Josh Reed, West, won by forfeit. 220 — Rogelio Chicas, West, won by forfeit. 285 — Brett Bradford, West, won by forfeit. 98 — Val Shuman, West, won by forfeit. 106 — Victoria Treder, West, won by forfeit. 113 — Paul Tandy, West, won by forfeit. 120 — Jejomar Briones, West, t.f. David Dumesnil, Juneau, 4:27, 23-8. 126 — Michael Mayo, West, won by forfeit. 132 — Darius Harrison, West, won by forfeit. 138 — T.J. Limbo, West, p. Braiden Helf, Juneau, 0:58.

JDHS then competed in the weekend North-South Tournament at Wasilla High School, placing 13th out of 14 teams. The Crimson Bears had no wrestlers reach the championship round.

More online at

North-South team scores:

1) Colony 207, 2) South 165.5, 3) Wasilla 146.5, 4) East 125, 5) Service 108, 6) Palmer 107.5, 7) West 66.5, 8) Eagle River 59, 9) Dimond 57, 10) Kenai 48, 11) Chugiak 40, 12) Bartlett 33, 13) JDHS 10, 14) Soldotna 8.

North-South championship matches:

98 -- Bryce Adams (Colony) p. Scott Harris (Dimond), 5:20. 106 -- Soren Simpson (Colony) m.d. Jack Divelbiss (Dimond), 13-0. 113 -- Brennan Girard (East) d. Greg Shack (South), 9-2. 120 -- Jejomar Briones (West) d. Matt Glover (South), 1-0. 126 -- Paul Steffensen (Kenai) d. Gavin Alvarado (South), 2-0. 132 -- Mason Cochran (Palmer) d. Rami Pellumbi (South), 3-1. 138 -- Kraig Hammond (South) p. Gavin Arnold (Eagle River), 3:30. 145 -- Anthony Sierra (East) d. Nick Ottum (South), 8-4. 152 -- Nate McKimson (Wasilla) m.d. Kamber Lucas (Colony), 16-7. 160 -- Tyler Thammavongsa (Service) p. Jarod Ruffing (Colony), 5:25. 170 -- Xavier Horton (Eagle River) d. DJ Morrow (Wasilla), 12-6. 182 -- Riley Fredrickson (Colony) d. Abraham Falegoatai (West), 3-2.195 -- Caleb Deemer (Palmer) d. Keahi Queja (East), 5-2. 220 -- Quace Wright (Wasilla) d. Ben Button (Palmer), 5-2. 285 -- Mitchell Daigle (Colony) p. Keanu King (East), 1:39.

North-South third-place matches:

98 -- Val Shuman (West) p. Andrew Hampton (Dimond), 2:45. 106 -- Quest Lema (Service) p. Zx Dio Abobon (Bartlett), 3:44. 113 -- Slava Hoffman (Service) d. Chace Booth (Colony), 8-6. 120 -- Logan Albrecht (Wasilla) d. Bryan McKimson (Wasilla), 7-4. 126 -- Matt Vandermartin (Kenai) p. Andrew Concepcion (South), :26. 132 -- Double forfeit, Marcus Amico (Eagle River) and Zachary Ritchie (South). 138 -- Nathan Pempek (Palmer) d. Aaron Troxell-Tom (Kenai), 8-3. 145 -- Double forfeit, Spencer Adams (Colony) and Tyler Loutzenhiser (Colony). 152 -- Robert Huffer (Chugiak) won by injury default over Wade Booth (Colony), :55. 160 -- Gabe McSharry (South) d. Blake Marks (Wasilla), 5-3. 170 -- Emetrius McLeod (Service) s.v. Logan Conway (Colony), 5-4. 182 -- Zane Fejes (South) d. Zachariah Doan (Colony), 7-3. 195 -- Billy Schultz (Wasilla) m.d. Toren Cheely (Chugiak), 15-4. 220 -- Zech Rockstad (Wasilla) p. Elisha Wright (South), 4:27. 285 -- Double forfeit, Nicholas Stevens (Service) and Justin Booth (Colony).


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Tue, 04/24/2018 - 13:07

Ketchikan Invitational Results