Joe Tompkins teammates

Juneau’s Joe Tompkins will be joined by the following athletes on the 2014 U.S. Paralympic Team to compete in Sochi, Russia.



Women - *Lindsay Ball (Benton, Maine); Stephanie Jallen (Harding, Pa.); Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.); *Staci Mannella (Randolph, N.J.); Alana Nichols (Farmington, N.M.); Melanie Schwartz (Aspen, Colo.); Laurie Stephens (Wenham, Mass.); *Danelle Umstead (Park City, Utah); Stephani Victor (Park City, Utah).

Men - Jasmin Bambur (Granby, Colo.); *Mark Bathum (Seattle, Wash.); Heath Calhoun (Bristol, Tenn.); Tyler Carter (Topton, Pa.); Chris Devlin-Young (Bethlehem, N.H.); Ralph Green (Brooklyn, N.Y.); Gerald Hayden (Winter Park, Colo.); Joel Hunt (Kokomo, Ind.); Ian Jansing (Granby, Colo.); Andrew Kurka (Palmer, Alaska); Jon Lujan (Littleton, Colo.); Stephen Lawler (Burlington, Vt.); Scott Meyer (Frisco, Colo.); Pat Parnell (Columbia, Conn.); Jamie Stanton (Oakland Township, Mich.); Joe Tompkins (Juneau, Alaska); Tyler Walker (Franconia, N.H.).

Guides* - Diane Barras (Bethel, Maine); Guide for Lindsay Ball; Kim Seevers (Averill Park, N.Y.); Guide for Staci Mannella; Rob Umstead (Park City, Utah); Guide for Danelle Umstead; Cade Yamamoto (Quincy, Wash.); Guide for Mark Bathum. Women


Women - Monica Bascio (Evergreen, Colo.); Oksana Masters (Louisville, Ky.); Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Md.); Beth Requist (Winter Park, Colo.).

Men - *Jake Adicoff (Sun Valley, Idaho); Omar Bermejo (Grand Rapids, Mich.); *Kevin Burton (Boulder, Colo.); Lt. Cmdr. Dan Cnossen (Topeka, Kan.); Travis Dodson (Deming, N.M.); Sean Halsted (Spokane, Wash.); John Oman (Rice Lake, Wis.); Augusto Perez (East Syracuse, N.Y.); Aaron Pike (Park Rapids, Minn.); Bryan Price (Belton, Mo.); Andy Soule (San Antonio, Texas); Jeremy Wagner (Nanakuli, Hawaii).

Guides* - David Chamberlain (Wilton, Maine); Guide for Kevin Burton; Reid Pletcher (Ketchum, Idaho); Guide for Jake Adicoff. Tyler Carron (Fort Collins. Colo.)


Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.); Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.);Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.); Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.); Jen Lee (San Francisco, Calif.); Taylor Lipsett (Plano, Texas); Dan McCoy (Cheswick, Pa.); Kevin McKee (Davenport, Iowa); Adam Page (Lancaster, N.Y.); Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.); Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.); Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.); Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.); Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.); Josh Sweeney (Phoenix, Ariz.); Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa).


Women - Cristina Albert (Denver, Colo.); Heidi Jo Duce (Ouray, Colo.); Megan Harmon (Huntsville, Ala.); Amy Purdy (Las Vegas, Nev.); Nicole Roundy (Bountiful, Utah).

Men - Tyler Burdick (Salt Lake City, Utah); Keith Gabel (Ogden, Utah); Dan Monzo (Vernon, N.J.); Mike Shea (Castaic, Calif.); Evan Strong (Nevada City, Calif.). Penny Greely (Green Bay, Wis.)


Jimmy Joseph (New Hartford, N.Y.); Meghan Lino (East Falmouth, Mass.); Patrick McDonald (Madison, Wis.); David Palmer (Mashpee, Mass.).


The 2014 U.S. Paralympic Team features 32 returning Paralympians who have won a combined haul of 50 Paralympic medals. The roster includes seven-time Paralympian Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.), five-time Paralympian Chris Devlin-Young (Bethlehem, N.H.), four four-time Paralympians, eight three-time Paralympians and 18 two-time Paralympians.

Defending gold medalists from Vancouver include alpine skiers Alana Nichols (Farmington, N.M.) and Stephani Victor (Park City, Utah), as well as eight returning members of gold-medal winning 2010 sled hockey team: Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.), Taylor Chace (Hampton Falls, N.H.), Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.), Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.), Greg Shaw (Merritt Island, Fla.) and Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa)

Tatyana McFadden (Clarksville, Md.) is the most decorated athlete on the team with 10 Paralympic medals; however, none of them are from the Paralympic Winter Games. McFadden is making her winter sport debut in Nordic skiing after first gaining international fame in track & field.

Allison Jones (Colorado Springs, Colo.) has been on every U.S. Paralympic Team roster, summer or winter, since 2002 as a seven-time Paralympian and seven-time medalist in alpine skiing and cycling.

Six athletes from the London 2012 Paralympic Games have been named to the roster: Monica Bascio (Evergreen, Colo., cycling/Nordic skiing) Jones (cycling/alpine skiing), Oksana Masters (Louisville, Ky., rowing/Nordic skiing), McFadden (track & field/ Nordic skiing), Nichols (wheelchair basketball/alpine skiing), Aaron Pike (Park Rapids, Minn.,track & field/Nordic skiing)

Thirty-three states are represented, with Colorado home to the most athletes with the tally at 14.

Eighteen athletes balance training and competition schedules with raising a family; three athletes are mothers and 15 are fathers.

Sled hockey’s Brody Robyal (Northlake, Ill.) is the youngest athletes on the team at 15 years old. Alpine skier Mark Bathum (Mercer Island, Wash.) is the most senior member of the team at 55 years old.

Eighteen athletes who have represented the U.S. as military veterans and active duty service members will represent Team USA in Sochi. The Nordic skiing team boasts the highest percentage of veterans, with eight of the sixteen athletes having military experience.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback