Local youth score in 3v3 World Cup

Argentina, Greece, Hungary and Egypt triumphed over the weekend in the Juneau Soccer Club’s 3v3 World Cup at the Wells Fargo Dimond Park Field House.


Argentina, with players Cameron Brown, Cadence Plummer, Matisse Geselle and Kai Ciambor won the Developmental Division. Greece, with players Owen Costello, Gavin Millard, Eli Crupi and Sophia Pugh won the Pre-Competitive Division. Hungary, with players Meredith Newman, Aidan Hopson and Brock McCormick won the Juniors Division. Egypt, with players Henry Cheng, Will Hoover, Eli Gregory and Star Barger won the Seniors Division.

Games were played to 12 minutes with three players on the pitch for each team and each player takes a turn out of play for three minutes, allowing for fair rotation and no substituting problems.

The tournament has a tradition of focusing on the players and does not allow coaching or coaches. Spectators are expected to watch and enjoy the excitement and growth of the players as they improve throughout the tournament.

According to an informational from tournament representative Carl Ferlauto this allows the players to be more creative and to simply play soccer.

The greatest players in the game often developed much of their skill from playing “street soccer” which involved finding other children, a ball, making up rules for the pitch they were on, choosing up sides and having fun.

“In today’s highly organized youth sports we sometimes forget the simple need for children to learn to work things out for themselves,” Ferlauto stated in the informational. “Children develop those critical problem solving skills as they face challenges. In street soccer, they solve their own problems, try new things on their own and learn to work with their teammates...”

Developmental Division

Other Developmental Division teams included England (Owen Adams, Jessica Bovitz, Brodee Green, Calvin Knapp), Germany (Carvin Hass, Eva Miller, Ryan Thibodeau, Busby West), Italy (Sam Cheng, Serena Crupi, Emilio Holbrook, Austin McKenzie), Netherlands (Oskar Beechum, Macabee Brna, Ariel Long, Andy Ramirez), Portugal (Kellen Arvidson, William Cashman, Theron Cole, Tatum Gende), and Spain (Kellen Chester, Gary Nemaia, Illiana Petershoare).

Other teams Pre-Competitive Division teams included Brazil (Joseph Aline, Gabe Cheng, Martin Holst, Megan Miller), Cote D’Ivoire (Tayten Bennetsen, Liam Drayer, Marina Lloyd, Fin Shibler), Croatia (Kyle Dusenberry, Bradley Haynes, Grace Long, Finn Yates), Ecuador (Kelsey Barker, Kai Hargrave, Reed Loree, Mark Rago), France (Aidan Frenzel, Gaven Green, Matthew Johns, Blake Plummer), Mexico (Kean Buss, Robert Gabel, Will Robinson, Brooke Sanford), Russia (Wallace Adams, Antone Araujo, Reece Dusenberry, Tommy Pearson), Switzerland (Solomon Alper, Kyla Bentz, Joey Meier, Carlos Paniagua-Willis), and Uruguay (Sayja Bradley, Elliot Costello, Skylar Drayer, Florian Wade).

Other Junior Division teams included Algeria (Samuel Holst, Joel Smith, Tad Watson), Belgium (Willow Bradley, Matthias Carney, Lars Gifford, Jaden White), Chile (Rachel Erben, McKie Gregory, Ashlyn Holst, Gareth Miller), Czech Republic (Gage Cooney, Rylee Larson, Miles Peterson, Julia Robinson), Denmark (Forrest Davis, Jasmin Holst, Cooper Wakley, Elias West), Ghana (Taylor Bentley, Nolan Campbell, Cooper Kriegmont, Gabriel Miller), Japan (Kellen Dumaop, Christopher Evans, Eva Goering, Sophie Thibodeau), Norway (Gavin Gende, Ellie Knapp, Asianna Mazon, Liam Penn), and Sweden (Tim Degener, Camden Erickson, Aubrey Hekkers, Alejandra Paniagua-Willis).

Other Seniors Division teams included Australia (Murphy Delgado, Dugan McNutt, Malia Miller, Brendan Renkes), Korea Republic (Elizabeth Cashman, Tulio Fontanella, Elliot Gifford, Finn Yerkes), Panama (Kyra Barrows, Ezra Geselle, Karina Ireno, Marc Manlulu), Paraguay (Brianna Jokerst, Alan Plosay, Clem Taylor-Roth), Republic Of Ireland (Ben Campbell, Skylar Cooney, Lars Peterson, Ernie Ramos), Romania (Michael Alon, Michaela Bentley, Speier McCormick, Mitchell McDonald), and Turkey (Kanon Goetz, Kieran Kollar, Nicole Mannix, Jackson Norberg).

The first 3V3 tournament was held in the Spring of 2010 and now is played twice yearly, once in the Spring and once in the Fall.

The Juneau Soccer Club’s primary mission is to provide youth soccer players with opportunities to build character and develop life skills while learning how to play soccer. The JSC website is www.JuneauSoccer.org.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sat, 05/26/2018 - 21:14

JDHS falls to Kenai in championship