Juneau Ski Club ends season with awards

Lizzie Chapman, Ronan Davies top the Eaglecrest Cup

The Juneau Ski Club held it’s season-ending awards banquet Saturday at Eaglecrest Lodge.


Lizzie Chapman was awarded the women’s Eaglecrest Cup for most race points, with Hailley Jones in second; 3rd Laurrie Balstad; 4th Ali Hiley; and 5th Jessica Gregg.

Ronan Davies topped the men’s Eaglecrest Cup with Joe Greenough in second; 3rd Cam Skaggs; 4th Cody Weldon; 5th Dylan Hulbert.

Eagle Awards:

U12 Men 1st Kaelin Quigley; 2nd Logan Miller; 3rd Koby Goldstein; 4th Aubrey Hekkers; 5th Ethan Sellers.

U12 Women - 1st Katie Skaggs; 2nd Jojo Griggs; 3rd Maile Quigley; 4th Sophia Caputo; 5th Gabi Griggs.

U10 Men 1st Florian Wade; 2nd Benjamin Goldstein; 3rd Adrian Whitney; 4th Sydney Patch; 5th Arvid Bush.

U10 Women 1st Ella Goldstein; 2nd Minta Schwartz; 3rd Sadie Jenkins; 4th Emma Eason; 5th Madeline Roemeling.

U8 Women 1st Raiya McCutcheon; 2nd Melissa Maxwell.

Mike Satre was presented with the Walter Scott, Jr. Memorial Trophy. Established in 1942, this is the longest standing and most prestigious trophy for outstanding personal contribution to the sport of ski racing over a number of years. Awarded in memory of Walter Scott, Jr., who was killed in an AJ Mine accident. Mr. Scott was an enthusiastic and avid young skier, among the first in Juneau to start an interest in alpine ski racing, and worked hard toward establishing a racing program until his death.

Cam Skaggs and Sabrina Jones were presented with the Bruce and Hanse More Award. Established in 1955, this is given to one or two DEVO/Junior athletes in recognition of good sportsmanship toward promoting the sport of alpine skiing in the area. Bruce and Hanse Moore were brothers from Sitka who were killed in an avalanche.

They came to Juneau frequently to compete in ski racing events held at the Second Meadow and Third Cabin.

Brian Jones was honored with the Junior High Appreciation Award. Established in 1966, this is presented by the DEVO/Junior athletes to recognize the person(s) who contributed outstanding effort in assisting with athlete programs (alpine, academic, etc.).

Ronan Davies and Hailley Jones were given the Shari Randall Memorial Trophy. Established in 1977, this is awarded to a Junior athlete showing outstanding dedication, enthusiasm, and sportsmanship. Shari Randall was extremely active in ski racing in Juneau, continued at Alyeska, and was subsequently lost at sea in a boating accident.

Gabi Griggs, Kaelin Quigley, John Schmitz, and Ashleigh Neal were given the JSC Most Improved honors. Established in 1986, this is awarded to female and male Junior athletes who, by the estimation of the coaching staff, have most improved over the present year. It does not necessarily go to the most outstanding racer, but rather to the racer who at the beginning of the season had the greatest distance to go in improvement.

Dylan Hulbert and Gretchen Neal received the Hilary Lindh Trophy. Established in 1992, this is given to one female and one male DEVO athlete for contributions by the athlete that showed improvement in racing skills, good sportsmanship, and dedication to the sport of alpine ski racing.

Jessica Gregg received the Scholastic Achievement Award. Established in 1993, this is awarded to Junior athlete(s) enrolled in high school, recognizing outstanding scholastic achievement during the current ski training and racing season.

Al and Jeffra Clough were presented with the Mitey Mite Appreciation Award. Established in 1996, this honor recognizes the personal contribution and outstanding effort in assisting the Mitey Mite program over a number of years.

Big Air Award - JoJo Griggs

Coaches Helper Award - Katelyn Reddekopp.

In addition, honorary lifetime memberships were presented to Ed and Linda Squibb and Ed and Margie Vandor.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback