Team Alaska scores third-highest medal count in Arctic Games

Full list of Juneau’s medal winners at Arctic Winter Games

The Team Alaska delegation representing Juneau. (Courtesy photo | Carol Lahnum)

Along with Arctic Sports’ Kyle Worl and snowshoeing’s Lindsay McTague and Finn Morley, a handful of other Juneau youth on Team Alaska brought home medals from the Arctic Winter Games last month.


The Team Alaska junior girls hockey team, which featured Kayli Dollard and Kaylee Lahnum, won the gold ulu. The girls skated to a 3-2 win over host delegation Northwest Territories 3-2 in the championship game.

Juneau-Douglas High School senior Leah Spargo and Alaska’s junior volleyball team took the gold-ulu match 25-10, 21-25, 25-23, 23-25, 15-6 over Alberta North.

Team Alaska’s senior boys hockey team, coached by Juneau-Douglas High School hockey coach Luke Adams, defeated Yukon 5-4 in the bronze-ulu game. JDHS junior Bill Bosse scored his team’s fourth goal of the game. Junior Greyson Liebelt and sophomore Cody Mitchell, also Crimson Bears, joined Bosse on the 17-man roster.

Alberta North, Alaska and Yukon all finished within 11 or fewer medals of one another. In the end, Alberta North came out on top with 133 medals (50 gold, 35 silver, 48 bronze). Alaska snuck in front of Yukon for second place with three more medals — Alaska scored 125 medals (51, 38, 36) and Yukon scored 122 (35, 41, 46).

Full list of AWG medal winners from Juneau

Gold — Kyle Worl (Alaskan high-kick, kneel jump, knuckle hop); Kayli Dollard (junior hockey); Kaylee Lahnum (junior hockey); Lindsay McTague (snowshoeing 2.5K, snowshoeing 5K); Finn Morley (snowshoeing 2.5K, snowshoeing 5K, snowshoeing short distance combined); Leah Spargo (junior volleyball).

Silver — Kyle Worl (Arctic sports all-around); Lindsay McTague (snowshoeing short distance combined); Ronan Davies (snowshoeing short distance combined)

Bronze — Kyle Worl (airplane, one-hand reach, sledge jump, two-foot high kick, head pull); Ronan Davies (snowshoeing 5K, snowshoeing 10K); Kara Hort (figure skating short program 2, figure skating free skate 2, figure skating combined ladies 2); Taylor Bentley (junior futsal); Blake Plummer (junior futsal); Bill Bosse (senior hockey); Cody Mitchell (senior hockey); Greyson Liebelt (senior hockey); Colton Johns (junior hockey); Shadrach Stitz (snowshoeing 5K, snowshoeing 10K, snowshoeing short distance combined); Meredith Fritsch (figure skating free skate 3, figure skating combined 3); Emily Bowman (figure skating short program 2, figure skating free skate 2, free skate combined 2); Katherine Fritsch (figure skating short program 3, figure skating free skate 2, figure skating combined 3).

• Contact sports reporter Nolin Ainsworth at 523-2272 or


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback