Juneau Community Charter School named Alaska Reward School

The Juneau Charter School is one of 49 public schools across the state being honored as an Alaska Reward School for its students’ achievements last year.


The Alaska Reward School program is designed to recognize schools that excel in one of two categories — high performance or high progress from one year to the next. The 110-student Juneau Charter School was identified as one of 37 high progress schools.

“Classrooms are set up in a looping system, so teachers get to know and build relationships with the kids,” said Quinn Haas, the school’s assistant manager.

The looping system means teachers are responsible for teaching the same students two grades in a row, and students have the same middle school teachers from sixth to eighth grade, Haas said.

“We don’t have to start over every year,” Haas said. “We get started from day one.”

To be named a high progress school, a school must be in the top 10 percent of schools in a statewide Growth and Proficiency Index, have an average score of 95 or better in that index for the past three years for all students and must be doing well among certain student groups.

Thirty-one schools were named high performance schools — 19 were both high progress and high performance — and that list includes six Southeast schools. The Juneau Charter School is one of 10 Southeast schools on the high progress list, and it is the only Juneau school on either list.

“The kids work hard, and we have parental involvement — that’s a key component,” Haas said.

• Contact reporter Matt Woolbright at 523-2243 or at matthew.woolbright@juneauempire.com. Follow him on Twitter at https://twitter.com/reportermatt.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Sun, 01/21/2018 - 06:10

Juneau man named head of public employees’ union

A Juneau man has been named executive director of the state’s largest labor union.

Read more