Nine applicants considered for Kerttula's seat

Nine applicants will be considered for the House seat vacated by former Juneau Rep. Beth Kerttula, who resigned from her position Friday to accept a fellowship at Stanford.


Nancy Courtney, chair of the local Democratic Party, said Tongass Democrats held an emergency meeting after Kerttula’s announcement.

“The Selection Committee has worked quickly and thoroughly on its process and is very pleased to have received applications from very capable Alaskans,” Courtney said in a prepared statement.

Former Juneau Mayor Bruce Botelho is chair of the Tongass Democrats selection committee.

“It is of utmost importance to the committee that this process be quick, thorough, and open,” Botelho said in a statement.

The list of applicants includes:

• Ken Alper, owner of the Silverbow Bakery and Kerttula aide

• Jesse Kiehl, aide for Sen. Dennis Egan and current City and Borough of Juneau Assemblyman

• Nancy Barnes, executive assistant to the president and CEO of Huna Totem Corporation and Alaska Federation of Natives board member

• James Betts, owner of Betts Boar Repair and leader for the statewide Knight of Columbus organization

• Sara Hannan, a teacher with the Juneau School District

• Sam Kito III, a civil engineer with roots in Petersburg

• Tim Lamkin, aide to Republican Sen. Gary Stevens

• Kim Metcalfe, business agent at the Alaska State Employees Association

• Catherine Reardon, former division director for the Department of Commerce and former vice-chair of the Alaska Democratic Party.

Botelho told the Associated Press on Tuesday that when deciding which names to put forward the selection committee would be “looking at electability” of those in contention for the seat.

• Contact reporter Jennifer Canfield at 523-2279 or at Follow her on Twitter at


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback