Finalists named for Alaska Teacher of the Year 2013

Five teachers have been chosen as finalists for Alaska Teacher of the Year 2013. They are Christopher Benshoof, Fairbanks School District; Brandy J. Bishop, Mat-Su School District; Tim Buckley, North Slope School District; Sarah Edwards, Dillingham City School District; and Pamela Moe, Cordova School District.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year along with an alternate will be chosen by a committee composed of members of major educational associations and the current 2012 Teacher of the Year, who is Cara Heitz. The committee will meet on September 24, 2012.

The Alaska Teacher of the Year may be called upon to speak at education conferences and participate in various statewide education working groups. The teacher is the Alaska nominee for national teacher of the year.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Fri, 08/18/2017 - 07:37

Ballot measures gather, one year from 2018 election

The 2018 election is a year away, but candidates are already starting to file for office.

Read more

Murkowski: Flexibility needed for Trump’s ‘Buy America’ plan

KETCHIKAN — U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski has said that President Donald Trump’s “Buy America” plan needs flexibility when it comes to government-funded projects like the... Read more