Juneau wins 2012 Chamber of the Year

Juneau Chamber CEO Cathie Roemmich and Sheldon Winters, chamber board president with the award at the ceremony in Fairbanks on Wednesday, Oct. 3.

A busy and productive year set the Juneau Chamber of Commerce apart as the 2012 Alaska Chamber of the Year. The chamber received its award on Oct. 3 in Fairbanks.


Juneau Chamber CEO Cathie Roemmich and Sheldon Winters, chamber board president accepted the award on behalf of the chamber. Lisa Herbert, executive director of the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce, presented the award.

Herbert called Juneau’s chamber leadership “dedicated and visionary” and successful in its goal for their organization to shape its community through education and inspiration.

“And we all know … that a successful Chamber has a very dedicated executive director, an excellent board of directors and an engaged membership,” Herbert said in a transcription of her speech from Oct. 3.

Part of this education, Herbert said, comes from the chamber’s revamped website and its involvement in regulatory politics with the recent unsuccessful Proposition 2, Herbert said.

Juneau was last honored as chamber of the year in 2008.

For more information about the Juneau Chamber of Commerce visit www.juneauchamber.com.

• Contact reporter Russell Stigall at 523-2276 or at russell.stigall@juneauempire.com.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Thu, 04/26/2018 - 10:14

Native corporation to work for the Navy at Guantanamo Bay

Tlingit Haida Tribal Business Corp. won the $18 million contract earlier this month.

Read more