Curtis elected mayor of Whitehorse

Election results require recount

WHITEHORSE, Yukon — With over 41 rejected ballots in the Oct. 18 election and only two votes separating the closest City Council candidates, the ballots of Whitehorse electors need to be recounted, said Returning Officer Norma Felker.


“Under these circumstances the Municipal Act requires us to hold a recount,” said Felker. “Until the recount has been completed, all results will remain unofficial.”

Felker also said, “The recount will take at least one full day so we won’t be releasing official results until next week.”

Results in the mayoral race include 2,375 votes for Dan Curtis, 1,100 votes for Rick Karp, 988 votes for Bernie Phillips, 587 votes for Scottie Howell and 480 for Mandeep Sidhu.

Votes in the Council race included: 2,963 for John Streicker, 2,537 for Councillor Betty Irwin, 2,363 for Councillor Kirk Cameron, 2,137 for Jocelyn Curteanu and 1,650 for Councillor Dave Stockdale.

The sixth and final Council seat to be filled remains too close to call. Mike Gladish holds a two-vote lead over Roslyn Woodcock, 1,534 votes to 1,532.

Twenty-two candidates in total competed for the six City Council seats. The top six vote-getters are considered elected.

“Once the recount has been completed we will release the results to the public,” added Felker.

Turnout for the Oct. 18 election was 43 percent.

Whitehorse has been Juneau’s sister city since 1989. It is the largest population center within 500 miles of the Alaskan capital.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback