House Dems announce leadership for 28th Alaska Legislature

Leadership team brings experience, new energy

ANCHORAGE — Alaska’s House Democratic Caucus announced Friday its leadership for the 28th Alaska Legislature.


Representative Beth Kerttula (D-Juneau) will be House Democratic Leader, and Representative Chris Tuck (D-Anchorage) will be the House Democratic Whip. The leadership will work as a team and share responsibilities. Representative Max Gruenberg (D-Anchorage) will remain House Democratic Floor Leader.

“Representative Tuck knows firsthand what it’s like to be a hard-working Alaskan trying to earn a living and build a future in this state,” said Kerttula. “I’m excited to have him join me in leading this caucus as we look to build a strong economy and expand opportunity for Alaskans, and he will be invaluable as we stand up against oil giveaways and affronts to our individual rights.”

“I am honored to earn the chance to lead this caucus with Rep. Kerttula,” said Tuck. “We have a strong team, with some great new members, and we’re committed to the values embodied in the Alaska constitution and shared by hard-working, independent Alaskans across the state. I look forward to helping our caucus develop our resources for the maximum benefit of Alaskans, working across the aisle to lower energy costs, growing our economy, and building an education system that will give everyone who wants a good job the skills they need to get it.”

Tuck is a lifelong Alaskan, electrician and father. After serving on the Anchorage School Board, Tuck was elected to the Alaska House of Representatives in 2008 and has worked on the House Resources, Energy, Rules, and Economic Development Trade and Tourism committees.

The House Democratic Caucus also announced its assignments to the House Finance Committee. They are as follows:

• Representative Les Gara (D-Anchorage)

• Representative David Guttenberg (D-Fairbanks)

• Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-Fairbanks)

The caucus will announce committee assignments at a later date.


  • Switchboard: 907-586-3740
  • Circulation and Delivery: 907-586-3740
  • Newsroom Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Business Fax: 907-586-9097
  • Accounts Receivable: 907-523-2230
  • View the Staff Directory
  • or Send feedback






Thu, 06/21/2018 - 09:19

Yukon rejects Alaska fiber link