Alaska Civilian Air Patrol awards presented

Posted: Wednesday, January 08, 2003

The Civil Air Patrol's 61st Anniversary/Awards Banquet was held last month at the Baranof Hotel. Distinguished guest speaker was Rear Adm. James Underwood, commander of the U.S. Coast Guard in Alaska. Awards were presented by CAP commander Maj. Boyce Bingham. The colors were presented by the CAP Cadet Color Guard.

Civil Air Patrol awards are given to honor those who serve. Its members are a core of nonpaid professionals who donate their time and resources to the organization and are dedicated to service of their community. Since Sept. 11, 2001, they have been drawn into homeland and harbor security defense.

While the members never receive monetary rewards, they do receive certificates, occasionally a ribbon, and some get their name engraved on a plaque.

The following dedicated CAP members were recipients of these awards:

Senior member of the year: Jon Alghren

Top flyer award: Maj. Boyce Bingham

Observer of the year: 1st Lt. Bob Matson

Special achievement: Senior Member Gordon Sandy

Life-time membership: Maj. K. Steve Sztuk

Fifty years of service plaque: Maj. K. Steve Sztuk

Groer Loening award: Maj. K. Steve Sztuk & Maj. Boyce Bingham

Garber award: Ma. Boyce Bingham

Amelia Earhart award: Cadet Andrew Bauer

The following promotions were also awarded:

1st Lt. Marvin Adams to Captain.

Senior Member Doug Jones to 1st Lt.

Senior Member Gordon Sandy to 1st Lt.

Civil Air Patrol is the official auxiliary of the U.S. Air Force. The organization was established Dec. 1, 1941. During World War II, it won fame for its coastal patrols and other civil defense activities. Today, CAP conducts a wide variety of emergency defense missions, including air search and rescue, performs aerospace education for young adults, and provides leadership training for its cadets.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us