Photo: Science Citation

Posted: Friday, January 13, 2006

Erika O'Sullivan (center), a local and international science fair winner, accepts a Legislative Citation for all 2005 Southeast Alaska Science Fair participants. The citation was presented to Erika and Juneau-Douglas High School science teacher Jonathon Smith (left), by Rep. Bruce Weyhrauch (right). Highlighted in the citation were the science fair winners: Erika O'Sullivan and Joey Bosworth for their group project "Effects of Age and Succession Type on the Composition of Forest Overstory and Understory." Individual project winners were Sara Bogert ("How Carbon Source Affects Microbial Sulfate Reduction in Mine Tailings"), and Sam Post ("How Wing Curve Affects Lift Force"). Also mentioned were runners up Brenna Heintz and Clay Wertheimer for their project, "Seasonal Dynamics of Polynuclear Aromatic Hydrocarbons in Gastineau Channel." The 2006 Science Fair will be held on March 17 and 18, in the Marie Drake Gymnasium. For more information, contact Koren Bosworth at 586-4837.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us