Ebona re-elected president of RurAL CAP

Posted: Sunday, January 17, 2010

ANCHORAGE - Rural Alaska Community Action Program Inc. (RurAL CAP) announced that in a unanimous vote of the Board, Juneau resident Andrew Ebona was recently re-elected president of the Board of Directors for the fourth consecutive year.

Ebona, a well-known Alaska Native leader, will serve his seventh term as RurAL CAP Board president, bringing his extensive experience to a demanding leadership role. He also served as president in 1983, 2004, and 2006 through 2009.

As the former executive director for Tlingit-Haida Tribes, staff to three governors, service with Sealaska Corp., executive director of the National Congress of American Indians and president of the Alaska Native Brotherhood Camp 2, Ebona has represented Alaska's first people on many issues. He is the group leader for the Yaaw Tei Ye dancers from Juneau and a member of the Parish Council of the St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Church.

As RurAL CAP President, Ebona oversees one of the largest and most diverse non-profit corporations in Alaska.

"RurAL CAP has budgeted $34 million for activities in 2010," Ebona explained. "That compares to expenditures of nearly $27 million during the past year when RurAL CAP employed 859 people in 79 communities, delivered services to 1,569 Head Start children, weatherized 300 homes, and diverted over 135,000 pounds of solid waste from landfills in 2009. We're serving more low-income people in Alaska than ever before."

"RurAL CAP has a solid reputation in the Community Action business. Thanks to the executive director and staff with innovative ideas that allow us to grow and better serve low-income people."

In addition to the election of Ebona as Board President, Mike Williams of Akiak was elected vice-president, and Olga M. Malutin, of Kodiak, is secretary/treasurer. Remaining Executive Committee members include Donna Brockschmidt from Homer, Dr. Anthony Nakazawa, of Eagle River, and Andy Harrington, of Fairbanks.

The RurAL CAP Board of Directors holds its annual meeting each December at its central office in Anchorage where officers are elected to a one-year term. A complete list of board members is available at www.ruralcap.com.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us