Thank you

Posted: Wednesday, January 24, 2001

... for spaghetti feed help

Gastineau Channel Little League would like to take this opportunity to thank the businesses and individuals that helped make our 4th Annual Spaghetti Feed and Dessert Auction a success. This fund-raiser would not have been possible without donations from Carrs/Safeway, Costco, Fred Meyer, McDonald's, Pepsi and Super Bear. These businesses continually show their support for this event. We would also like to thank Chef Paul and the staff at Glacier Restaurant for their assistance and use of their facility; what a fun gang. Jim Reid did a great job as volunteer auctioneer and Lynda Mixson and Lucy Roberts once again solicited a spectacular array of desserts and donations. Thanks also go out to Kim's Kloset, Glacier Gardens-Rainforest Adventures, Princess House-Chris Tetham, Gourmet Alaska, The Silk Gardens, The Plum Tree, Juneau Drug Co., Ben Franklin, Annie Kaill's, Heritage Coffee, Susan's Hallmark, The Baranof Hotel, Highlands B & B - Hal and Leslie Daugherty, J.W. Bean Surveyors, RBF Charters - Terry White, Community Schools and everyone else who makes this spaghetti feed a successful event. Gastineau Channel Little League thanks the community for their support and we look forward to seeing you on the fields this spring.

GCLL board

... for Hoop Shoot

On Dec. 16 the finalists for the Elks National Hoop Shoot competition competed for local and state awards. Congratulations to the more than 1,000 boys and girls ages 8-13 who locally competed to enter the finals. They are a group of more than 3 million who compete across the nation to become the "best" free throw shooter. The Elks Hoop Shoot is in its 29th year and over the years Juneau has been represented by some outstanding shooters from Christian Carpenetti, Curtis Lane and Kelly Freng to Eric Gross and Brian Decker.

This year congratulations go to the following shooters:

8-9 boys: 1st - Torey Franzen, 2nd - Eric Sele, 3rd - Dylan Baker.

8-9 girls: 1st - Elizabeth Cordero, 2nd - Nia Maake, 3rd - Charnele Landingham.

10-11 boys: 1st - Brian Decker, 2nd - Sean Dunham, 3rd - Ryan Larson.

10-11 girls: 1st - Alison Bremner, 2nd - Veronica Lietz, 3rd - Lindsey Daniel.

12-13 boys: 1st - Cody Heppner, 2nd - Justin Jones, 3rd - Norman Zura.

12-13 girls: 1st - Mary Rehfeld, 2nd - Jesse Post, 3rd - Kerstin Kimlenger.

Thanks to all the parents and Elks who participated in making this one of the finest local events to the youth of Juneau. A special debt of gratitude goes out to the parents and friends who helped in the finals by rebounding and scoring where needed. The participation of so many students could not have been accomplished without the wonderful help with preliminary competition in the schools. The hard work and caring of the fantastic PE teachers in Juneau schools actually made this event work. Thank you Mrs. Bue, Mrs. Smith, Mr. Ritchie, Mr. Walter, Mrs. Denton, Mr. Khmelev and especially Mr. Bonk at Dzantik'i Heeni who opened his doors and helped in the set-up.

Final thanks goes out to my fellow Elks who have given of their time year after year. Gary Durling, Bud Ivey, President Jim "Beaver" Davis, Lisa Baker and my wife Cindy Pastorino.

John Pastorino

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us