1959 - Alaska's first state Legislature

Images from another time

Posted: Sunday, January 26, 2003

Forty-four years ago today, on Jan. 26, 1959, the first Alaska state Legislature convened in Juneau. This photograph was taken of the 40-member House of Representatives, who were elected from 24 districts. The boundaries of those districts have changed a number of times since 1959 because of changing population patterns. Twelve governmental departments were set up by the first Legislature. They were administration, commerce, education, fish and game, health and welfare, law, labor, military affairs, natural resources, public safety, public works, and revenue.




Related Searches


Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us