Harris to chair United Way Board of Directors

Posted: Sunday, February 08, 2009

University of Alaska Southeast Dean Larry Harris took over as chairman of United Way of Southeast Alaska Board on Feb. 1.

Harris has had a long history with United Way, both in Southeast Alaska and in Pocatello, Idaho, where he served on the board and worked with the United Way Success by 6 (Born Learning) program. He served as campaign chair in 2007 and has been on the United Way of Southeast Alaska's board since 2006.

Officers for the 2009-10 year are: Michelle Prebula, state of Alaska investment officer, as chair-elect; Sheri Croll, controller for Bartlett Regional Hospital, as treasurer; Scott Jones, assistant state comptroller, as secretary; and Michelle Calvin-Casey, community relations director for Bartlett, as past chair. The new campaign chair is Lance Stevens, regional vice president for Alaska USA Credit Union, who also sits on the board of directors.

Other board of directors serving Southeast Alaska are Mary Becker, a longtime community volunteer in the field of education; Ronalda Cadiente-Brown, project coordinator for the Juneau School District; Ben Coronell, U.S. Marshall court security officer; Andrea Doll, former state representative and community activist; Katherine Eldemar, assistant to the president and CEO, Sealaska Corp.; Cameryn Flynn, health promotions consultant, Premera Blue Cross Blue Shield; Joan O'Keefe, executive director of Southeast Alaska Independent Living; Angie Parker, field representative with the Alaska Public Employees Association and American Federation of Teachers; Corey Pavitt, owner of Pavitt Health and Fitness; Mischelle Pennoyer, University of Alaska provost's office; Steve Samuelson, Hammer & Wikan, of Petersburg; and Sheryl Weinberg, executive director of SERRC, Alaska's Educational Resource Center.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us