District announces 2009 Spelling Bee winners

Posted: Sunday, February 15, 2009

Round after round and level after level, third- to fifth-grade students in the Juneau School District spelled their way through their classroom and school bees to the final 2009 Juneau School District Spelling Bee held Feb. 10 at Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School.

It took 12 rounds of daunting words - such as "gregarious," "Sasquatch," "daffodil," "apostrophe, ""sporadic" and "hacienda" - before Jahbril Flores, from Floyd Dryden Middle School, emerged as the champion. Demaris Oxman, from the Montessori school, placed second in the competition, falling on the word "pizzeria."

Flores will compete in the state spelling bee on March 4 in Anchorage.

Local organizers are grateful to retired Dzantik'i Heeni teacher, Didi Ryall, for sharing her talents as pronouncer; to Cathy Boutin, Kirstie Dye and Liz Agnew for judging; and to Tom Boutin for assisting in many ways.

Juneau School District 2009 Spelling Bee winners

Auke Bay Elementary School

Glen Taggart, fifth

Soren Thompson, fifth

Dzantik'i Heeni Middle School

David Elliott, eighth

Kevin Sigler, eighth

Floyd Dryden Middle School

Jahbril Flores, eighth

Amanda Stevenson, sixth

Gastineau Elementary School

Aidan Seid, fourth

Tyler Burns, fifth

Glacier Valley Elementary School

Maliquinn Beal, fifth

Austin Damitio, fifth

Harborview Elementary School

Treyson Ramos, fifth

Ian Scholl, fourth

Mendenhall River Community School

Bryan Conrad, fifth

Christian English, fourth

Montessori School

Corwin Kelly, eighth

Demaris Oxman, sixth


Calista Ferguson, third

Paris Russel, fourth

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us