Minnick, Olstad win 2009 Iron Dog snowmobile race

Posted: Sunday, February 15, 2009

FAIRBANKS - A pair of Wasilla racers on Polaris snowmobiles have won the 2009 Tesoro Iron Dog.

Todd Minnick and Nick Olstad crossed the finish line on the Chena River in Fairbanks at 11:55 a.m. Saturday, capturing the $25,000 first price.

The 1,750-mile race follows the Iditarod trail from Big Lake to Nome, then takes entrants east to Fairbanks.

Minnick and Oldstad's time of 37 hours, 19 minutes set a new record for the course, eclipsing the previous record of 38 hours, seven minutes by Alaska First Gentleman Todd Palin and Scott Davis in 2007.

Minnick and Olstad left Nenana just one minute ahead of the Tyler Aklestad of Palmer and Tyson Johnson of Eagle River on Ski-Doos.

Aklestad and Johnson crossed the finish line at 11:59 - four minutes behind the winners - and finished with an elapsed time of 37 hours, 22 minutes.

Marc McKenna of Anchorage and and Dusty VanMeter of Kasilof on Ski-Doos were third in 38 hours, six minutes.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us