Southeast Scout leaders receive Silver Beaver Award

Posted: Sunday, February 22, 2009

ANCHORAGE - The Boy Scouts of America's Great Alaska Council held its annual banquet on Feb. 7 at the Sheraton Hotel in Anchorage. At the banquet, volunteer scout leaders Dennis Olsen and John Inman, of Ketchikan, and Duane Gates and Stu Robards, of Juneau, received the Silver Beaver Award for their contributions to scouting in Southeast Alaska.

Courtesy Of Cal Hiebsch
Courtesy Of Cal Hiebsch

Established in 1931 by the National Council of the Boy Scouts of America, the Silver Beaver Award is presented to volunteer leaders for distinguished service to young people within a local council of the Boy Scouts of America. It is the highest award which can be bestowed by the local council. More than 50,000 Silver Beaver recognitions have been conferred to date. Silver Beaver Awards are presented on the basis of the number of units in a council.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us