Lawmakers plan to attend national Energy Council meeting

Posted: Thursday, February 25, 2010

The halls of the state Capitol will be a little quieter next week, with 19 Alaska lawmakers expected to be in Washington for an annual meeting of the Energy Council.

The late-week trip will likely affect floor and committee schedules. Half the Senate's 20 members are expected to participate in the conference. On the House side, the majority press secretary says committee chairs will determine whether they want to change their schedules.

Several lawmakers on Tuesday defended their mid-session trip as important to their work in Juneau, given the importance of oil and gas in the state.

The Energy Council is comprised of 11 energy-producing states, five Canadian provinces and Venezuela.

The list of lawmakers provided are: Reps. Craig Johnson; Mark Neuman; Kyle Johansen; Anna Fairclough; Carl Gatto; Charisse Millett; Bryce Edgmon; Harry Crawford; and Scott Kawasaki. From the Senate: Sens. John Coghill; Johnny Ellis; Linda Menard; Lesil McGuire; Charlie Huggins; Bert Stedman; Joe Thomas; Thomas Wagoner; Fred Dyson; and Lyman Hoffman.

Trending this week:


© 2018. All Rights Reserved.  | Contact Us